PDA

View Full Version : Doubled RAM...decrease in performance?


burzin
06-28-05, 11:57 PM
Hi,

I have a P4 2.4Ghz overclocked to 2.7Ghz with 512MB DDR400 RAM and a AGP 6600GT card on a ASUS motherboard. I was getting a score of 30,955 on Aquamark 3 benchmark. I have just increased my RAM to 1GB and my Aquamark 3 score has fallen to 29,350 !

My new 512MB Module is the same RAM as my previous. Is there some setting that I am missing?

Please help!

SH64
06-29-05, 01:45 AM
Did you make sure you put them in the right DIMMs to run @ dual channel?

jAkUp
06-29-05, 02:13 AM
It probably relaxed your memory timings when you stuck them in there... check the BIOS for the timings.

burzin
06-29-05, 04:57 AM
Did you make sure you put them in the right DIMMs to run @ dual channel?

How can I check that? I have 3 modules 512,256,256.

My Motherboad is ASUS P4S8X-X. I dont think it supports dual channel memory, if it didnt, would it make a difference?

Thanks in advance.

jAkUp
06-29-05, 11:15 AM
It would be a little quicker if it supported dual channel...

Go into your bios and verify the CL timing... As well as the T command. Check if its 1T or 2T.

burzin
06-29-05, 01:46 PM
It would be a little quicker if it supported dual channel...

Go into your bios and verify the CL timing... As well as the T command. Check if its 1T or 2T.

Hi & Thanks,

My BIOS has the following settings:

SDRam CAS Latency - 2.5T
SDRam RAS to CAS Latency - 2T
SDRam RAS Precharge time - 2T
SDRam RAS Active Time - 6T

SDRam Command Lead-off Time - AUTO

saturnotaku
06-29-05, 03:14 PM
Running 3 DIMMs will kill your dual channel ability and it's likely also that your system may have clocked down to a 166 MHz fsb as a result. Most machines don't like running with more than 2 DIMMs.