PDA

View Full Version : 6800GT & HDTV


BlackCross
07-06-05, 07:08 PM
I was wondering if anyone on here plays games on a hdtv thru their 6800GT? I have an evga card and was thinking of hooking up my hdtv. My card has a DVI port and a svideo one. I'm not sure which one to use? Anyone else have this combo or advice?

Thanks.

freakweasel
07-06-05, 07:36 PM
I had my 6800 Ultra hooked up through the DVI connector to my hdtv (LG 44 inch DLP). The problem i had was the image was shifted off to the left and you could only see the edge of the icons. I had to sell my ultra, gt and hdtv so i havent used it with the gt.

gram_vaz
07-06-05, 07:38 PM
if you do it do it through dvi. s-video port will give hdtv image degradation.

BlackCross
07-06-05, 08:07 PM
great thanks guys. i was thinking of playing games like chaos theory, gta, pop2, with a console friendly controller. maybe playing some bf2 if i get a setup. aren't dvi cables expensive?

freakweasel
07-06-05, 09:27 PM
They arent too bad in price, 20-30 dollars depending on length

BlackCross
07-06-05, 09:34 PM
right on. i'll pick one up. for some reason i thought they were like 100 bux. maybe i was thinking of HDMI. any idea where to buy one? i see DVI cables at like compusa/BB, but they are like 79$+

does it matter the resolution/AA/refresh i play in when hooking up the hdtv. it won't damage the tv will it?

freakweasel
07-06-05, 09:41 PM
http://store.a2zcable.com/video-dvi-to-dvi-video-cables.html

my tv went up to 1920x1080. I dont know what tv you have but some tvs are 1280x720 (i think). ATI drivers will tell you what the max res. of your TV/Display is, havent used nvidia in a while so i dont know if they do.

BlackCross
07-06-05, 09:52 PM
thanks a lot man for all of your help! yeah its a year old sony 32 crt hdtv. not sure the max res either.

i need to get dvi to dvi correct? that sux you had to sell all your stuff! :(

freakweasel
07-06-05, 10:08 PM
Yeah you need a male to male dvi cable. I figured my car was more important than my entertainment stuff. Cant ride a hdtv to work! :cool:

dilidolo
07-06-05, 10:57 PM
http://store.a2zcable.com/video-dvi-to-dvi-video-cables.html

my tv went up to 1920x1080. I dont know what tv you have but some tvs are 1280x720 (i think). ATI drivers will tell you what the max res. of your TV/Display is, havent used nvidia in a while so i dont know if they do.

Isn't 1920x1080 1080i which is interlaced and 1280x720 720p which is progressive? How do you feel at 1920x1080? 720p is supposed to have better quality?

I'm thinking of connection my 7800gtx to sony hdtv.

BlackCross
07-06-05, 11:31 PM
thanks freak. this is true lol. although im sure someone out there did one hell of a mod to their tv and made some hdtv car. if you had that you would be golden.

freakweasel
07-07-05, 12:22 AM
I think 1920x1080p is supposed to be "Full HD" (depending on the wesite you read its called different things). The max res is 1920x1080 and the screen looks fine, like a normal desktop beside the fact that everything is shifted off the screen, i have no idea why it does that.