PDA

View Full Version : Samsung PC3200 400MHz DDR Question?


Digital_Trans
07-07-05, 03:49 PM
I own 3GB of Samsung PC3200 400MHz-DDR Memory. Shouldn't memclock index value in the bios settings be 400MHz? not 333MHz? I set the Asus
A8N-SLI Deluxe bios to default and when I rebooted it posts 333. Would it
be adviced to go into the bios and change it to 400MHz and leave the settings on manual instead of auto detect?

My specs at a glance. :D

AMD Athlon64 3500+ 2.2GHz
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe MB
Two BFG 7800 GTX-OC 256MB-GDDR3 Video Cards in SLI-mode
Samsung 3GB-PC3200/400MHz DDR
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
SilverStone 650W Power Supply SLI Ready
WD-200GB-HDD-Master
WD-250GB-HDD-Slave
Samsung 21.3" Digital_LCD Monitor (Black)

BrianG
07-07-05, 04:22 PM
I had to do that when I had four sticks of 512MB in my A8N-SLI.

Do you have two 1GB and two 512MB sticks?

Digital_Trans
07-07-05, 04:59 PM
I had to do that when I had four sticks of 512MB in my A8N-SLI.

Do you have two 1GB and two 512MB sticks?


Why yes... I have 2 1GB Sticks of Samsung PC3200 400MHz DDR Memory
and 2 512 Sticks which =1GB All togheather I have 3GB of Memory.
Brand: Samsung What's the proper settings please? :) 333? or 400? :D

BrianG
07-07-05, 09:10 PM
Try forcing the 400. Worked for me, just make sure you run 2T and back off to 3-3-3-8 if you can adjust the BIOS.

Digital_Trans
07-08-05, 02:10 AM
Try forcing the 400. Worked for me, just make sure you run 2T and back off to 3-3-3-8 if you can adjust the BIOS.



What is 2T???? and back off to 3-3-3-8????
Please define the meaning???? :)

GamerGuyX
07-08-05, 03:10 AM
What is 2T???? and back off to 3-3-3-8????
Please define the meaning???? :)

(omg)

You know nothing about computer memory do you?

There is this thing called http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/google.gif you know. ;)

BrianG
07-08-05, 07:31 AM
(omg)

You know nothing about computer memory do you?

There is this thing called http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/google.gif you know. ;)
Ouch. He is trying to learn. :afro:

Digital,

Searching google is actually a good idea, but those numbers refer to memory timings. Here is a coupel of links to start you out.

http://forum.pcmech.com/showpost.php?p=475021&postcount=1
http://www.ocztechnology.com/displaypage.php?name=memory_basics&psupp=1

Keep in mind that, at the same clockspeed, lower latency numbers mean better memory bandwidth. However, you have to play highest common denominator with paired sticks of memory. Having one fast stick and one slow stick does not make both fast sticks. :D

GamerGuyX
07-08-05, 01:10 PM
Ouch. He is trying to learn. :afro:

Damn yeah it kinda was...

Hey I was typing that at 3:00 am I should be allowed to be a little mean now and then! http://forum-images.hardware.fr/images/perso/pere%20dodu.gif

My apologies regardless. :)

john19055
08-08-05, 11:49 PM
Only the newer motherboards can except of to six banks of ram and run a 200FSB ,the other motherboards can only except up to four banks of ram to run a 200FSB anything over that and it defaults to 166FSB.