PDA

View Full Version : How do I run the demos?


barrysumpter
07-08-05, 06:07 AM
Hi just installed a GeForce 6600 GT and would like to see some demos.

I've downloaded a few demos.

But can't seem to find where to run them. :confused:

Any positive connstructive help would be appreciated.

saturnotaku
07-08-05, 06:11 AM
Need a bit more detail than that. Complete system specs (including driver versions used), what demos you're trying to run and any error messages you're seeing.

barrysumpter
07-08-05, 06:18 AM
Jeez! Thanks for the super fast response.

I wan't really looking for a hard core technical response.

I hoped to get a Start | programs | nvidia | demo ....
Kind of response.
Which would tell me I didn't install propely or missed a tick somewhere.

Do I really need to chase all this info up just to see a demo?

Thanks again,
baz

saturnotaku
07-08-05, 06:22 AM
Well, if you want us to be able to actually help you, then yes. Simply saying "a demo won't run" doesn't allow us to try and troubleshoot for you. It could be any number of issues, from driver software, to operating system, to hardware. Plus we don't know what exactly it is you're trying to do and what you're trying to run. Again, I will say it you need to be specific about what you're doing and any errors you're seeing. If you can't or won't provide as much information as possible, we won't be able to help you.

barrysumpter
07-08-05, 06:28 AM
OK One more go here.

" I've down loaded (and installed) a few demos. But can't seem to FIND where to run them. "

How do I execute the demos? (NOT 'demos won't run')

Specifically
C:\Program Files\NVidia Corporation\NVidia Demos\Nalu

On windows xp pro w/sp2

With GeForce 6600 GT.

There are NO errors since I havn't really run anything.

Thanks again.

Demigod
07-08-05, 07:24 AM
It should have created a seperate nvidia demos folder above programes in the start menu. Not in programes above it.

j0j081
07-08-05, 11:21 AM
yes for nalu "Nvidia demos" folder should be in the start menu and then two shortcuts 6800 and 6600 if I remember correctly.

OWA
07-08-05, 12:45 PM
You can also just go to the directory where the demos are installed and run them from there (instead of running them through the start menu).

rohit
07-08-05, 02:29 PM
Click on nalu 6600 to start the demo.
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/1354/nalu3rj.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

j0j081
07-08-05, 07:58 PM
this is the hardest tech related quetion i've read in these forums in a long time.

barrysumpter
07-08-05, 09:06 PM
I love it!

So when is the last time you checked there to find a short cut to a freshly installed piece of software?

Well, for me, never. :eek:

DemiGod,

Love the ID, and the direct and to the point response. :thumbsup:

OWA,
Any giva-away as to which .exe to run?
There was one that had a what looked like a 16 bit icon on it.
mermain.exe I think.

rohit,
A picture is worth a thousand words. Appropriate for this forum! :D


I had anticipated the demo showing off the $AU300 card I just purchased.
Instead I find I'm very disappointed.

You'd think the demo should come setup with the least resource requirements.
Run successfully. Showing the recent purchase was an excellent investment.
Then tell you how to incease the depth here, speed there, by teaching in you one step at a time.

Instead it took 2 minutes to load, showed the first page then freeze for another 30 seconds.

I'll have a look thru the rest of the forum to see if I can find a setup for running the demo in 3d with the least resource requirements. Then build from there.

My cpu is an Intel P4 3.0

My reasearch indicated that Doom III and Half-Life II would run at a very decent 60 fps. At a decently high resolution.

But I've found, so far, out of the box, both card and games, will only run smoothly at the lower resolutions.

So little time, so many games.

Thanks for being so cool, :cool:
baz

j0j081
07-09-05, 12:27 PM
I love it!

So when is the last time you checked there to find a short cut to a freshly
Thanks for being so cool, :cool:
baz
Is this a joke? You are craZy! :afro2: