PDA

View Full Version : Bad fps with 7800GTX in CS:S


Rayman1968
07-09-05, 08:20 PM
Specs:

AMD FX-53
Gigabyte 7800GTX
Asus A8M-SLI Premium
1 gig Corsair XMS LL PC3200
PC Power and Cooling Turbo Cool 510 SLI

CS:S runs absolutely horrible. At 1024 x 768 with 4xaa and 4xaf and high settings my fps will drop down to the 30's when there are other people on-screen. It will go as high as 100 (my refresh rate) but I get these big dips.

I don't know what to do. I've been tweaking my system and am getting 83,500 on Aquamark3 and 7800 on 3D Mark 05.

Other games seem to run ok.

Anyone else have this problem or have any idea what's wrong?

Thanks for any help.

-Ray

Banko
07-09-05, 08:24 PM
Turn off vsync.

Rayman1968
07-09-05, 08:59 PM
Tried that. It raised my max fps to 200+, but I still have the big dips.

200 fps one second, then a drop to 30 fps when the action starts. :confused:

killahsin
07-09-05, 09:01 PM
just sounds like how hl2 runs in general, the engine is seriously cpu demanding.

Rayman1968
07-09-05, 09:42 PM
I had the same cpu in my previous set-up with a 6800GT and it ran much better.

Zeta
07-10-05, 12:32 PM
Source is very CPU bound. It is not the video card holding you back. The faster the CPU wtih source the higher the FPS. Its that simple.

Are you using on board audio? Many people have said that makes a big impact on performance with source.

Rayman1968
07-10-05, 12:52 PM
No, I'm not using onboard audio.

I don't see how my cpu is holding me back though. When I combined the same cpu with a 6800GT the game ran much better.

I'm starting to think it might be an issue with the latest CS:S update.

Banko
07-10-05, 01:02 PM
Actually I too think it is the latest CS:S update loaded up CS:S in a while, and there was dips in the 30fps range kind of weird because it was always smooth for me. (1280x1024 4xaa 8xaf, Everything on Highest)

Am_I_Evil
07-10-05, 05:11 PM
At 1024 x 768 with 4xaa and 4xaf and high settings my fps


with that CPU & that card why are you running it this low in the first place??

Rayman1968
07-10-05, 06:57 PM
with that CPU & that card why are you running it this low in the first place??

If the game was performing as it should, I wouldn't be. If I raise the resolution I get even worse performance.

anzak
07-10-05, 08:38 PM
Drivers maybe? I dunno, you shouldn't get dips into the 30s.

Veger
07-11-05, 01:45 PM
I have noticed this also. When you check how the source engine sets up your graphics card in the Video under advanced. It does not have the recommended settings (*) like had with the 6800ultras in sli it replaced. The problem is with the source engine not understanding that the 7800gtx card is a high end card it does not recognize this card. Valve needs to fix this asap...

To check what settings the source engine is using , just load CounterStrike Source goto video to advanced and see what valve recommends. Any AA and AF was not recommended with the *.

Rayman1968
07-11-05, 02:19 PM
I have noticed this also. When you check how the source engine sets up your graphics card in the Video under advanced. It does not have the recommended settings (*) like had with the 6800ultras in sli it replaced. The problem is with the source engine not understanding that the 7800gtx card is a high end card it does not recognize this card. Valve needs to fix this asap...

To check what settings the source engine is using , just load CounterStrike Source goto video to advanced and see what valve recommends. Any AA and AF was not recommended with the *.

I noticed this as well. The game recommended much lower settings (no AA, trilinear AF) than it did for my 6800GT. But shouldn't I just be able to over-ride them manually and have it run ok?

ynnek
07-11-05, 02:34 PM
as others have said, CS:S is CPU bound.. and a bad server that can't keep up bandwidth or load wise, can make it feel horrible.

Veger
07-11-05, 03:19 PM
I noticed this as well. The game recommended much lower settings (no AA, trilinear AF) than it did for my 6800GT. But shouldn't I just be able to over-ride them manually and have it run ok?

Yes you can over-ride them it just is weird that it would not detect optimal settings just like before for me, you and others.

Gaco
07-11-05, 04:16 PM
CSS may be CPU bound, but why do I never get dips into the 30's of FPS when playing on my P4 3.0 ghz and 6800GT?

nVidiaGuru
07-11-05, 04:19 PM
intel must have paid valve to code against amd lol.... or probably because the source engine sucks bugs wise

Zeta
07-11-05, 05:36 PM
I am not sure why. Maybe it is an Intel vs AMD thing. I can tell you that I was at a lan and my buddie next to me has a AMD 64 3800+ with a geforce 6600 GT and I have a AMD 64 3700+ and 6800 GT and we get almost the same FPS at the same settings. And btw it will dip to the 30's however I do not feel in any way when it does it is unplayable in the 30's (huge firefights with lots of people). I just felt bad for the guy next to me on the laptop that was dipping under 10 FPS. I really do feel it is CPU bound and has little to do with the video card. If you think it is a video card issue run 8x6 with no AA and no AF and see if it is still dipping into the 30's. I bet it does. On my system btw I run 10x7 with 2AA and 8AF.

Gaco
07-11-05, 05:39 PM
Wait, I can only think of one occasion where I'm dropping LOW (prolly into the 20's), that's when some really have physics is giong on, which in reality only is when someone throws a granade at some tree planks or somethin' :)

StoNer
07-11-05, 06:07 PM
I think its the havok physics combined with all the player models running around that taxes the cpu so much. I think i heard somewhere that theres a console command to turn off the physics.

Rakeesh
07-11-05, 06:18 PM
I would just blame it on source. Source has hardware compatibility issues up the ass compared to other games. Hell, it took valve 5 months just to add compatibility with DDL soundcards, whereas even older games work fine with it right out of the box.

Acid Rain
07-12-05, 12:21 AM
I would just blame it on source. Source has hardware compatibility issues up the ass compared to other games. Yeah, I highly doubt that properly tapping your 7800GTX is high on Valve's priority list. Everyone keeps telling you it's your CPU, as Source is heavily CPU bound, but I never had dips like that even on an Athlon XP 2500 machine with the 6800GT. Based on word flying around, the latest update may have (temporarily?) broken your game, somewhat.

I've permanently retired the hackware, based on updates breaking my own game, so I haven't run with the latest update. I wouldn't fret about it if all your other games are running great. It's not worth it, in my opinion. Maybe just focus on other games. Even buggy ol' BF2 should dish out more entertainment by far.