PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking X2 4400+ Troubles


Buenamos
07-16-05, 12:23 PM
Ok, well the thread title kinda explains it all. My Specs are below and it seems no matter what I do, I can't get it to even boot up into windows once I up the fsb.

What I've done basically is just tried upping the fsb to 220 b/c that's not unreasonable. I left the multiplier at 11x for about a 200mhz increase. I tried upping the core voltage even up to 1.5 and the memory voltage to 2.7. But still it's a no go.

Jackup, I know you have the same motherboard as I do. What kind of temperatures are you getting on ur chipset? Currently idling, I am at 56C which is pretty hot. But, at the same time I have dual 7800gtx's right there heating that baby up.

My cpu, at stock is watercooled and idles around 32C and sometimes goes up to 40C during gameplay.

Any suggestions?

jAkUp
07-16-05, 12:34 PM
My chipset actually gets around that hot also, I changed the RPM on the fan to spin up at 60c because the constant spinning up and down of the fan is killing me.

What type of memory do you have? is it DDR400? if so, increase it to 2.9v, CL3 and try for a 220fsb once again. 2.7v is a little low for performance memory.

newls1
07-16-05, 12:47 PM
Lower the HTT link as well....

OWA
07-16-05, 01:10 PM
What type of memory do you have? is it DDR400? if so, increase it to 2.9v, CL3 and try for a 220fsb once again. 2.7v is a little low for performance memory.
I wonder if that is my problem with the OCZ memory. My system isn't nearly as stable when I use it versus some cheaper PNY memory I've had for a while. I left the voltage at the default settings though (auto).

Edit: Or, does that comment just apply when you're overclocking the system?

jAkUp
07-16-05, 04:32 PM
Oh yes, lower your HTT to 4x also Buenamos!

And OWA, yea, most high performance modules are designed to run at 2.8v. I usually run mine at 2.9v. But if you are ocing, you may want to put a little more v into it.

OWA
07-16-05, 04:38 PM
Okay, I'll give that a shot. Thanks.

Buenamos
07-16-05, 06:03 PM
K, I got it running at 2.4ghz (220x11) Default multiplier

I have my voltage set at 1.375 and 2.9v on ram. I also moved my tcl up to 3 as you said and I've have no crashes of any sort. I haven't ran superpi or anything like that yet, but so far it seems good. My 3dmark05 went from about 10,400 to about 11,500 and 3dmark03 went from 27411 to 28084. I've been playing BF2 and HL2 almost all day and all seems good.

I've tried upping it to 230x11 but it won't boot. I haven't tried upping the cpu voltage up yet with that nor have I messed with the mobo volts. Any suggestions are welcome. THANX ;)

jAkUp
07-16-05, 07:31 PM
Did you change your HTT to 4x?

Buenamos
07-16-05, 08:19 PM
yes i did sir ;)

Buenamos
07-17-05, 01:37 PM
Well, it seems as though 220fsb is about as high as it will go for me. Oh well, still runs great.

Big Ev
07-21-05, 05:01 PM
What tools/methods/steps did you take to overclock your X2 4400+

I just got an X2 and I'm interested in OCing it as well.

rflair
07-21-05, 05:31 PM
Change the memory divider in your BIOS, I don't think your RAM is liking the increased FSB and 1:1 ratio.

Riptide
07-21-05, 06:44 PM
If it's the RAM memtest86 will probably yield errors. Might wanna run it.

littlegreenguy
07-21-05, 06:50 PM
i'm a noob compared to most of you guys here but i think i had the same ram you do... the rev 1 platinum 2 3 2 5 which IMO is a pain in arse to overclock.
I got my 4400 yesterday and with G. Skill it's no problem ocing. With the rev 1 you "most likely" won't get above 220 fsb stable with good timings until you use the divider and up the cpu voltage to about 1.45.

If i were you I'd use 3x on htt, use ram divider, and set cpu volts to 1.5 (you're on water so it should be no biggie).

also try burning in your ram with memtest overnight. it helps.

i will let my cpu and ram work together for the next couple weeks before i start shooting for 2.8 (probably a pipedream).

let us know!

Big Ev
07-21-05, 10:35 PM
Okay, I've OC'd my X2 4400+ to 2.5GHz

CPU Temp idle: 37C
CPU Volt: 1.488V
RAM Volt: 2.9V

37C pushing it?

littlegreenguy
07-22-05, 07:21 AM
your temps are fine. you're on water so the temperature change (delta) to your load temp should not be too big. What divider are you using? Try disabling command per clock (brings you to 2t) and raise the fsb again. you should easily get to 2.6.

once you're at 2.6 and stable then you can start to think about better ram which WILL make a hell of a difference (in games).

Buenamos
07-23-05, 02:42 AM
Well, I did a little tweaking. My memory is now running at 3-3-2-5 @ 1T with a divider of 180fsb (I think it's like 8/9 or so). My CPU is now running at 2.6ghz with a 236mhz fsb and my CPU Voltage at 1.5 and my Ram Voltage at 2.9. I haven't tried for much more but so far it's running great. My 3dmark05 went up about 500 points. (haven't updated sig yet b/c I'm planning on experimenting more tomorrow)

littlegreenguy
07-23-05, 09:55 AM
well that was easy now wasn't it? :D

i don't subscribe to the whole "bench it with prime 95 until the cows come home or its not stable" philisophy. if after a week of intense gaming you have no issues then try cranking her up to 2.7. i think that would be your upper limit on your watercooler with reasonable ambient temps.

Ub3rn00b
11-29-06, 01:40 PM
I'm running 246x11, running 2.71ghz on my x2 4400 on air with the stock HSF with the heatpipes. I'm running idle 38c and load at 54c. I'm running at 1.4625v so it looks as though I still have room for more oc. I could get to 2.8 at 1.5 without a crash, but temps were getting...hotter. I think on air this 2.7 is about as high as I wanna go. However, I'm suprised to see people with water cooling hovering around these temps as well...

Bearclaw
11-29-06, 01:56 PM
Holy thread revival.