PDA

View Full Version : Lost space...


extreme4377
07-21-05, 03:54 AM
Well I popped my WD 160GB IDE drive into my system tonight and formatted using WinXP Pro disc and NTFS but it showed up as 125GB w/25GB of used space. I knew it was wrong because I had just formatted and only installed XP so I formatted using NTFS again and now I only have 127GB and still some used space thats unaccounted for. Whats the deal? The drive worked perfectly in the external casing but when I pop it inside the case, it bugs out.

Ive tried different cables, different jumper settings, different IDE ports on the mobo. Whats up?

Thanks!

LBJM
07-21-05, 04:54 AM
so can you keep formatting it and see how much more space you can lose? :D have you tried to repeat the results with another computer?

AthlonXP1800
07-21-05, 05:05 AM
No need to worry, here are nothing wrong with your hardware. It was an error in MSDOS code that stupid Bill Gates wrote in 1975, he was no good at maths. :rolleyes:

http://www.nrk.no/img/139636.jpeg

So Windows XP read the sizes incorrect but read in bytes correct, like a 1.4Mb HD floppy disk, Windows XP read it as 1.38Mb, that incorrect but it read 1,457,664 bytes corrected. Like my 120Gb hard drive, it read the size as 114Gb, that wrong size but it read 122,935,001,088 bytes corrected.

New operating systems came after 1975 like Amiga OS I have on Amiga A500 and A1200 back in 80s and 90s both reported sizes and bytes corrected, to read the PC HD floppy disk, it read as 1.4Mb size and 1,457,664 bytes.

I really dont know why Microsoft never corrected it 30 years on.

extreme4377
07-21-05, 06:33 PM
It was a problem with XP and the GB limit. I slipstreamed SP2 into my XP install disc and its back at 149GB, its normal capacity. Thanks anyways :)

-=DVS=-
07-21-05, 08:27 PM
Yeah you need service pack 1 as minimum if you got more then 127 gigs.

$n][pErMan
07-21-05, 08:47 PM
Ya .. I had the same problem along time ago with my 160gig .... SP1 later on fixed that :)

extreme4377
07-21-05, 08:47 PM
yup yup. Thanks for all your help. Ive got it running great now :)