PDA

View Full Version : When did you get Your first AMD system?


Pages : [1] 2 3

LBJM
07-21-05, 02:12 PM
since I've noticed a lot of people posting their first AMD system in other threads I thought we needed a thread.

my first AMD system was a k7 I used the original SlotA athlon 700Mhz. I upgraded from an intel :thumbdwn: p II 450Mhz. I was very impressed. since then I've haven't brought in an Intel setup since. I've built nothing but AMD systems for others since. I've owned athlon MP and athlon XP setups. I'm now running AMD64 cpus opterons and athlon 64s.

if intel :thumbdwn: was cheaper and didn't moan about letting people overclock maybe I'd try them again.

cut n paste your stories here if you dont feel like retyping.

NoWayDude
07-21-05, 02:17 PM
Mine was a K7 also. but processor was an 800Mhz Athlon.Had a PIII at 350? (not really sure now) that died on me.Since then had a 1200,1600,1800?, a P4 @ 3.00Mgz, an A64 3400+ (754 board) a 3500+ and now a 3700+.The latest ones obviously on 939.
It will need something very special from Intel to get me on the dark side again.

Riptide
07-21-05, 02:27 PM
FX53 about a year ago now.

rohit
07-21-05, 02:45 PM
first ever amd, a64 3200+ s939, for almost 4-5 months now. i had s478 p4 2.8e ht earlier.
a64 is awesome, i am extremely satisfied. runs cool, silent, faaaast, better.

jnd3
07-21-05, 02:55 PM
N00bs! :p My first AMD system was back around 1995, an AMD 486 DX2-80 (which was soon replaced by a 486 DX4-120). WAY cheaper than the comparative Intel chips, back then, and that's still the case now (he says as he's still plugging along with his Athlon XP 2100 running at Athlon XP 2600 speeds).

Tr1cK
07-21-05, 03:03 PM
My first AMD chip was when they worked for Intel back in the day. 286/16. My first 100% chip was a K6-2 400. :D

Addy
07-21-05, 03:14 PM
386/40 for me coupled with the sheer power of Trident video!

Starscream
07-21-05, 03:20 PM
The first AMD system I built was a K6-166 sometime in the mid to late 90's. (honestly I can't really remember when, but it was about the time the p2's were just coming out).

I also used to have a junker AMD 286 system in my basement that was never used for anything.

saturnotaku
07-21-05, 03:34 PM
My first personal AMD system was my Athlon Thunderbird 850 paired with an Abit KT7-A. At first I was a little leary of going with that VIA chipset, but it was far more affordable than a comparable Intel machine at the time. The best P3 system I could get on my budget back then was 650 MHz.

Before I bought that machine, though, my parents had a K6-2 350. It's a Compaq that is still going today as our Internet gateway/server. I'm amazed the dumb thing has lasted this long, and it's only been rebooted once in the last 75-90 days.

|JuiceZ|
07-21-05, 03:37 PM
AMD K6-2 333Mhz back in 97' or '98...

|JuiceZ|
07-21-05, 03:40 PM
The first AMD system I built was a K6-166 sometime in the mid to late 90's. (honestly I can't really remember when, but it was about the time the p2's were just coming out).

I also used to have a junker AMD 286 system in my basement that was never used for anything.

Post more often, good to hear from ya ;)

rflair
07-21-05, 03:42 PM
AMD K6 233Mhz, really wasn't a great CPU did its job though, strapped to a Voodoo2 and SB16 on an Epox board if I remmeber right.

anzak
07-21-05, 03:51 PM
Athlon 800mhz (Thunderbird) in mid 2000 and never looked back.

$n][pErMan
07-21-05, 08:42 PM
My first AMD was 5 years ago. It was an Athlon 1.1Ghz CPU. THis was an upgrade from a Pentium 2 350Mhz .... so I noticed a HUGE improvement :D

superklye
07-21-05, 08:48 PM
My first AMD system was about 4.5 years ago...it was a Tbred 1.47GHz system and was an upgrade from a Celeron 400. Let me tell you: the difference was huge.

jAkUp
07-21-05, 10:14 PM
My first AMD cpu was about 4 months ago :D Been using intel for about 10 years.

SH64
07-21-05, 10:35 PM
3-4 months ago .. actually its my current 4000+ system.

hurtz
07-21-05, 10:50 PM
Back in 1995 or 1996, AMD K6-400Mhz, with Gigabyte mobo, TNT2 Ultra, and 16MB of ram...lol...quite a system for that day.

ricercar
07-21-05, 11:01 PM
In 1994, I bought an AMD 486 DX4-100 to put in my new mobo that supported ISA and VL-Bus, plus that newfangled PCI standard. Ran Warp-OS/2 on it, avoiding Intel/Microsoft for at least a year.

Big Ev
07-22-05, 12:44 AM
My first AMD system is the one I'm on now :)

Athlon64 X2 4400+

I am VERY happy!

Rakeesh
07-22-05, 01:46 AM
Mine was years ago...like back in 1997 or so? I had an AMDk5-133 (that was when AMD first started using kX for their processor names.) Was a pretty fast CPU at the time, and it was pretty cheap too.

Bluekkis
07-22-05, 03:23 AM
Athlon 900MHz Thunderbird, upgraded from 266MHz P2. It was a damn great comp and lasted long (about 3 years). Then I upgraded to almost my current (swapped some parts half a year ago, mainly mobo and GF), expecting this one to last next 3 years or so (although cpu itself is almost two years old already, making it last total of 5 years =) ). I was one of first to jump into A64 bandwagon, I actually hold up my upgrade plans for a year due to A64 delays =P.

Wolfhound
07-22-05, 08:20 AM
Upgraded from P3450 Mhz (slot) to AMD Athlon 1000Mhz (slot) because the intel system ehhhhh burned and the CPU literally blowed away :D So I decided to give AMD a try and havenīt bought any intel since then (99)

CaptNKILL
07-22-05, 08:53 AM
In 2000 I built my first system (as an upgrade from my 400Mhz Gateway). It had a TYAN KX133 motherboard and an Athlon Slot A 750Mhz... that thing was a freaking screamer :)

Its still running BTW... a friend of mine has been using it for 3 1\2 years now.

CaptNKILL
07-22-05, 08:58 AM
Back in 1995 or 1996, AMD K6-400Mhz, with Gigabyte mobo, TNT2 Ultra, and 16MB of ram...lol...quite a system for that day.
I think youre talking more like 1998-1999... I dont think the TNT 1 was even out in 96, and CPUs were more in the 200-266Mhz range.