PDA

View Full Version : Thermalright XP-90 / XP-90c

SignorSalad
07-21-05, 05:12 PM
I currently have a Thermalright XP-90 with a panaflo 92mm fan, and with the setup in my profile I idle @ 40-42c and run load @ 53-59c depending on application. (I live in Florida and the ambient temp is pretty warm.)

I'm wondering if I might see a noticable benefit moving from the XP-90 to the XP-90c.

Opinions?

Riptide
07-21-05, 05:21 PM
Sure. Copper is better than aluminum for spreading heat. Should drop it a couple degrees.

keith33
07-21-05, 06:39 PM
Depends on your case, for example,I have an XP-120 but my WaveMaster case doesn't have the greatest ventilation so I idle between 36-39 and load between 48 and 54. It should be much lower but there isn't enough air for the heatsink to blow on to the CPU. Also, go with the XP-120, it pushes much more air at much lower RPMs hence it's way quieter.

anzak
07-21-05, 06:44 PM
You should see a difference, but its not a worthy upgrade IMO.

fastguy94416
07-21-05, 07:03 PM
I've got an xp-90 and I am getting load temps of 42C. I think it all has to do with your airflow, I'm running a Lian Li PC-60 Plus.

edit: Ok I lied, Getting both cores to 100% i get a load of 47C

Rytr
07-21-05, 07:32 PM
I currently have a Thermalright XP-90 with a panaflo 92mm fan, and with the setup in my profile I idle @ 40-42c and run load @ 53-59c depending on application. (I live in Florida and the ambient temp is pretty warm.)

I'm wondering if I might see a noticable benefit moving from the XP-90 to the XP-90c.

Opinions?

I did a review of the XP-90C and compared results with the XP-90. I used the Prescott 3.4E system as the test bed. The results can be found here: http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/thermalright_xp90c/index.shtml

LBJM
07-21-05, 08:45 PM
to be honest make sure you get good air flow thru the case the more ait flowing the better. temps should drop. I live in New Mexico and it's hot here so I understand your pain.

SignorSalad
07-22-05, 08:11 AM