PDA

View Full Version : Gigabyte 6600GT - 500Mhz in 2D mode?


PerfectCr
07-22-05, 09:47 PM
I was under the impression these cards clocked down to 300Mhz in 2-D Mode. But it's still running at 500Mhz in 2-D. I am running the latest drivers from Nvidia's site, 77.72. This a PCI-E 6600GT. Any ideas? The fan does not change speeds either. Thanks guys!

Ruined
07-23-05, 12:09 AM
AFAIK its normal for the NV4x to run at the same speed in 2d/3d. 6800 Ultras originally shipped with 2d/3d clocks at different speeds and it caused lockups and corruption. The next BIOS revision they made 2d/3d clocks equal and that fixed things.

PerfectCr
07-23-05, 12:28 AM
AFAIK its normal for the NV4x to run at the same speed in 2d/3d. 6800 Ultras originally shipped with 2d/3d clocks at different speeds and it caused lockups and corruption. The next BIOS revision they made 2d/3d clocks equal and that fixed things.

Is this fact? Everything I read says the 2D clocks are 300 and 3d clocks are 500 and the fan speed changes between the two. Any links for info on this?

ChrisRay
07-23-05, 12:36 AM
AFAIK its normal for the NV4x to run at the same speed in 2d/3d. 6800 Ultras originally shipped with 2d/3d clocks at different speeds and it caused lockups and corruption. The next BIOS revision they made 2d/3d clocks equal and that fixed things.


Geforce 6600GTs run @ 300 mhz in 2d operation. This was only the case for the 6800 line. Even the 7800 line so far has seperate 2d/3d clocks.

PerfectCr
07-23-05, 12:39 AM
Geforce 6600GTs run @ 300 mhz in 2d operation. This was only the case for the 6800 line. Even the 7800 line so far has seperate 2d/3d clocks.

Any idea why it's running full blast all the time? It has the latest "F10" Bios on it. In the past with Nvidia card the fan will spin to max at boot up but slow down quickly and stay there until a 3-D app is launched. Now it's just running constantly at full and at 500Mhz Core in 2d AND 3d

jAkUp
07-23-05, 12:51 AM
Run coolbits and downclock your 2d core to 300MHz

PerfectCr
07-23-05, 12:53 AM
Run coolbits and downclock your 2d core to 300MHz

Yeah but shouldn't the card do that itself? Maybe I got a bad card?

gram_vaz
07-23-05, 02:58 AM
my leadtek came at 350 for both 2d and 3d. i oc'ed to 380 for 3d and downclocked to 300 for 2d for temp concerns.