PDA

View Full Version : Venice cores and Epox 9NDA3+


superklye
07-27-05, 03:06 PM
As some of you may have seen in my other thread about A64 stock heatsinks, I'm looking at getting a Venice core 3000+ and sticking with nFORCE3 ultra so I can continue to use my AGP 6800GT since I can't afford the PCIe jump just yet.

Anyway, I was curious to know if anyone who has this board is currently using a Venice core with it. I emailed their tech/customer support and they got back to me asking some more specific questions about the CPU specs, but haven't written back in almost 16 hours now.

So...was there anything you needed to do in order to get the Venice core to work? Or can you just drop it in an go? I would assume you could, but with the voltages being lower than previous A64s, I wasn't sure if the BIOS would need to be flashed or what (which would necessitate me getting a floppy drive). The sooner I get an answer the better because that means the sooner I can order my CPU/mobo. :)

CaptNKILL
07-27-05, 03:09 PM
Hell yes Im using it... amazing board for an amazing CPU :)

Worked the first time with no problems and the overclocking was easy as pie.

EDIT: Whoops... youre talking about the + version, I just have the J. Its basically the same exact board, yours just has a few extras. Unless they send you a really old one with an outdated BIOS you should have ZERO problems. Get it! :D

superklye
07-27-05, 03:39 PM
Hell yes Im using it... amazing board for an amazing CPU :)

Worked the first time with no problems and the overclocking was easy as pie.

EDIT: Whoops... youre talking about the + version, I just have the J. Its basically the same exact board, yours just has a few extras. Unless they send you a really old one with an outdated BIOS you should have ZERO problems. Get it! :D
****in' A...thanks Capt! I'm gonna order tonight, I think!

w00t!

Banko
07-27-05, 05:25 PM
Why are you getting the Epox board, why not the Neo2 Plat?

superklye
07-27-05, 05:28 PM
Why are you getting the Epox board, why not the Neo2 Plat?
I had one other MSI board and it left a TERRIBLE taste in my mouth. It was not up to the specs as advertised...it said it could handle Athlon XP 2600+ chips, but not Barton cores. So my Barton didn't work in it.

Their tech support told me to flash the BIOS. I did. Still nothing. So I wasted like $75 on that and then had to drop another $70 or so on another board.

I've heard nothing but awesome things about Epox in general and this board more specifically. Why should I get/consider the Neo2 Platinum?

Riptide
07-27-05, 05:41 PM
I'd get the Epox. I had a crappy experience with my Neo2. To be fair though others have had much better luck with it.

superklye
07-27-05, 06:54 PM
I'd get the Epox. I had a crappy experience with my Neo2. To be fair though others have had much better luck with it.
Well, the Epox has 5 "eggs" and the Neo2 only has 4. I don't trust MSI at all and Epox has been a good name for as long as I can remember.

I'm going to go lifting and then will come back here and order...hot DAMN I am excited. :)

superklye
07-27-05, 10:05 PM
well, it looks like the 9NDA3+ also only has 4 stars, but still: it's not MSI and that's more than enough for me.

Anyway...Capt, did you have to disable onboard SATA in order to be able to OC? One of the reviews said he had to...

Banko
07-27-05, 11:58 PM
Well did you try considering the new DFI 939 NF3 Mobo?

CaptNKILL
07-28-05, 01:00 AM
well, it looks like the 9NDA3+ also only has 4 stars, but still: it's not MSI and that's more than enough for me.

Anyway...Capt, did you have to disable onboard SATA in order to be able to OC? One of the reviews said he had to...
Nope, im using it. If I had to do that I wouldnt give it nearly as much praise.

Though it could be a difference in the two models... they might have different SATA controllers.

Mojoe
07-28-05, 06:08 AM
I have the 9nda3+ ant its a really nice board, running 270 HTT 1:1. Got the San Diego and the board at the same time, also no stuttering. :D

PaiN
07-28-05, 06:27 AM
here's a link to get the lastest bios for your Epox...you'll need it to support the revE CPUs
http://www.epox.com/USA/article.asp?ID=1884

superklye
07-28-05, 08:07 AM
Well did you try considering the new DFI 939 NF3 Mobo?
Where is it? The only DFI 939 boards I see at NewEgg are NF4

superklye
07-28-05, 08:09 AM
here's a link to get the lastest bios for your Epox...you'll need it to support the revE CPUs
http://www.epox.com/USA/article.asp?ID=1884
DAMN IT!

I guess I DO need a floppy...unless...is there anyway I can flash from a CD?

Mojoe
07-28-05, 08:51 AM
You can flash it from windows, with winflash or magic bios.

superklye
07-28-05, 09:10 AM
You can flash it from windows, with winflash or magic bios.
Really? What is this new devilry you speak of?

superklye
07-28-05, 09:13 AM
Hmm...I looked around a little bit and it appears as though both of those programs are really cool. Sweet. My hope/faith is restored. :)

Banko
07-28-05, 11:30 AM
The dfi nf3 939 pin mobo:

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch.hmx?SCriteria=BA30085&CartID=done&nextloc=

Mojoe
07-28-05, 11:40 AM
The dfi nf3 939 pin mobo:

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch.hmx?SCriteria=BA30085&CartID=done&nextloc=

Thats one heck of a buggy board, no one should buy it before Dfi has fixed all the
issues.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12885

superklye
07-28-05, 11:53 AM
Thats one heck of a buggy board, no one should buy it before Dfi has fixed all the
issues.

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12885
Ugh, yeah...no thanks.