PDA

View Full Version : I need a new psu


Darkfox3889
07-30-05, 01:29 AM
Well it turns out that the 16 amps on my psu's 12v rail isnt quite enough for my new 6800 gt since every now and then it will reboot during a game. Odly enough it has only done this in riddick running at 2.0++ and WoW so far. doom 3, farcry, and bf2 dont cause a reboot. Anyway I was just wonder what kinda of power should i be looking for when i go to buy a new psu, is 18A on the 12v rail enough?

jAkUp
07-30-05, 01:36 AM
Go for 22A on the +12v rail. Get a good name brand. Antec, OCZ, PCP&C, etc.

Revolutionx
07-30-05, 02:08 AM
Get a Maddog 500W,they are pretty good and PLENTY of connections I think about 8 spots on the PS,I'm useing it right now it has 3 fans built in with fan control :-P WARNING stay away from MasterPower brand! I bought one that said 520W it only runs at 250W MAX! HORRIBLE power supply!

smthmlk.
07-30-05, 03:34 AM
fortron source, ocz, pcp&c, seasonic are about all i recommend.

Darkfox3889
07-30-05, 12:54 PM
well I already know im only gonna buy ocz, antec, or enermax in terms of brand. But do I really need 22a?? Here are my specs
Athlon XP 2500+
Geforce 6800 gt
2x 60gb HDs
Lite on Dvd drive
a few case fans
Audigy 2 zs
1.5 gb PC3200 ram

Do you still think that even with my older system I need 22a on the 12v rail or will it be safe to go a little lower I'm on a rather tight budget?

Goth
07-30-05, 01:02 PM
Well it turns out that the 16 amps on my psu's 12v rail isnt quite enough for my new 6800 gt since every now and then it will reboot during a game. Odly enough it has only done this in riddick running at 2.0++ and WoW so far. doom 3, farcry, and bf2 dont cause a reboot. Anyway I was just wonder what kinda of power should i be looking for when i go to buy a new psu, is 18A on the 12v rail enough?

SuperFlower is a good PSU for the money
I have a SuperFlower 550w PSU with a 30A 12v rail
it Pushes my BFG 6800 Ultra OC just fine

http://www.directron.com/tt550k14.html

toxikneedle
07-30-05, 01:24 PM
I would suggest either the OCZ Modstream or the Antec NeoPower for your system. Both of those PSUs are really good and they are both modular (plug in what u need only). The Neopower has 2 12v rails but the Modstream looks a bit cooler (sleeved cables, blue LED fan).

Darkfox3889
07-30-05, 05:07 PM
hmm this modular thing sounds cool. well i think im going the get the ocz modstream since its $20 cheaper than the antec.

toxikneedle
07-30-05, 05:11 PM
Yes, but both OCZ and Antec's modular PSUs have the motherboard plugs (20-24pin) hardwired into the psu. The rest though, molex aux pci-e sata, you plug-in as you need them. So if u only need 1 molex plug, thats all u plug in and u dont have to have useless cables taking up space in your case.

Peacemaker
07-31-05, 08:19 AM
I got this one - TOPOWER TOP-628 P6 EZ 520W. This is it ! It is so quiet !
12v x 2 in SPLIT mode - 20A/1 or combined - 40A/1.
The best thing is EZ-plug in. You connecting only what You realy need.
http://sklep.komputronik.pl/pelny.php?id=19430
1E=4,10pln.

greetings,

Peacemaker.

Aphot
07-31-05, 12:22 PM
My OCZ 450 is awesome, 120mm fan, blue LED, sleaved cables.

OCZ 520 should be fine :).

Son Goku
07-31-05, 03:32 PM
I saw one online which I liked (and would have ordered if I had the money. My 400 watt PSU is enough for my current setup but not an upgrade.

Get a Maddog 500W,they are pretty good and PLENTY of connections I think about 8 spots on the PS,I'm useing it right now it has 3 fans built in with fan control :-P WARNING stay away from MasterPower brand! I bought one that said 520W it only runs at 250W MAX! HORRIBLE power supply!

BTW, I ended up getting one of those for a former roomate when I last upgraded. I didn't have use for my Athlon Tbird setup when I got the AXP. Given my old setup had PC100 (from an earlier time) and my current setup uses DDR, I had extra memory as well as CPU and mobo.

All seemed well, until he (wanting to use the el cheapo case he had) screwed the mobo down too tight. That thing smelled awful. Unfortunately, it didn't have the means to suspend the mobo up so the mettle contacts didn't hit the bottom of the case. Perhaps he thought I was being careless in not screwing it down snug, but in reality I was being careful to prevent mettle on mettle contact, and the attendent short that occured.

Ah well, I tried... For the few days he had the whole setup, things seemed to go well with the PSU (which I purchased for him outa my own money). Not sure what would have been the story beyond that though...

toxikneedle
07-31-05, 05:10 PM
prevent mettle on mettle contact
what's a mettle?

extreme4377
07-31-05, 06:18 PM
Hey Ive got a 560W TT PSU for sale. Check out the FS sections. Ill knock the price down to 70 shipped. Kickass PSU, silent, stable as hell!

Roliath
07-31-05, 07:17 PM
If you still haven't decided which PSU to get, I'd recommend an OCZ Modstream.
I'm using the 450w version and it pushes everything in my rig (see sig).
Rails on rock on, stable, quiet, overall great performer!

LBJM
08-01-05, 04:41 AM
in my view if your power supply dies you can lose almost everything it's plugged into, so I always gets one that can handle more than I need.