PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking 3000+ venice for use with 7800gtx


devansh55
07-30-05, 11:19 AM
ppl,i just bought the asus a8 sli motherboard a venice core 3000+.I got them for a total of $270 and i also bought the INno 3d 7800gtx video card for a very sweet $477 from Hong kong.
Now i read the article about athlon 64 scaling with 7800 and i was worried whether i wud get the right results with my kinda setup coz the cpu seems weak but thats all the cash i had

So i wanted to know exactly how i overclock very safely my cpu to speeds close to 2 ghz or higher

My ram is a kingston cl 2.5 value ram.I read thru a lotta guides bout overclocking but it wu be best if ppl with similar config like mine could sugeest in very simple steps as to what values to change and to how much for a safe overclock

This newbie wud really appreciate all ur help.

thanks

Dudes__Geof_
07-30-05, 11:32 AM
I have a 3000+ Winchester with an Asus A8V-E Deluxe, so it's similar...

with that ram you should be able to push to about 2.3ghz or 2.4ghz depending on how the ram will react..

I have samsung ddr400 ram, and I can manage over 2.3ghz stable, but under 2.35ghz

your HTT is going to be about 200, and I'm guessing your multiplier is 9, same as the winchester (I think)..you should be able to raise it to about 250 without any worries, you'll have to do a Manual overclock and if your bios is the same as mine there will be a frequency area under the Jumperfree Configuration and under there disable the Syncing for PCI-E and PCI, if you leave it enabled you could basically fry any cards in those slots, mainly for PCI from what I have heard..PCI-E is supposedly better with having the frequency set higher, but to stay safe, disable it..

Make sure you're ram is also set to auto, when I didn't, I had to reset my cmos (yesterday) and before when my cpu was clocked lower, it just came up with the error on screen instead of blurting however loud out of my speakers..

set your htt to start, to about 220, if it does that fine, for clarification, run some games, run a benchmark, and I use super pi to tell me when ive gone too far with my ram because the rounding messes up..instead of your htt though, if you can just raise your cpu multipler to 10, this will only change your cpu speed, and nothing else.

I suggest going slowly at it, and go about 5mhz at the HTT when it gets over 250mhz.

I'm also a newbie with overclocking but just the past week or so I have been messing around with it so I've gotten a better idea of how it all goes, i'm not good at explaining, but I can prob type it out again more clearly if this doesn't make sense :rolleyes:

devansh55
07-30-05, 11:36 AM
so basically u r able to run a 3000+ at almost 3500+ speeds and performance.I uwd love to have that to make my 7800gtx fly

superklye
07-30-05, 11:38 AM
Man, for $30 more, I could've got an SLi board. ****.

I could've/should've dropped another $150 or so on a a 6600GT and just stuck with it until I could afford a GTX.

Damn it. That was NOT thinking things through. I just figured that all nF4 SLi boards were too expensive. Mothereffer.

Dudes__Geof_
07-30-05, 11:51 AM
so basically u r able to run a 3000+ at almost 3500+ speeds and performance.I uwd love to have that to make my 7800gtx fly

more than, you might be able to boost it up to 2.6ghz or 2.7ghz if you are lucky, well, if you can also set a ratio for your ram so you can make sure it stays lower at about 200mhz then you'd be good, mine does an auto ratio and it just runs 6:5, would be nice to be able to change it, then I would overclock this computer a lot more

Edit- Forgot to mention, how much ram you have can change how much you can overclock..I don't get the reasoning for why, but thats what I know

devansh55
07-31-05, 04:17 AM
just set the htt to 250 and the htt multi to x4 and you will get a 2250 mhz processor.
That is a 'safe' overclock, because you shouldn't have to mess with any voltage settings.


this is what some1 suggested me but i have a few questions-------
ok and with this kinda speeds what sorta temp. should be permissible.Also do i keep the RAM settings on auto or do i change them.What about the divider?and how do i test the stability

Zurble
08-05-05, 05:31 AM
with no voltage tweak, i can run my 3000+ at 2.6Ghz with SLI 7800 GTX on A8N SLI deluxe
i run actually at 2.7Ghz 1.5V, and can hit 2.8 prime95 (bios 1011 limit voltage to 1.55 Max!!!!?)
all this on air cooled XP90c at max load temp 48 Celsius (49 at 2.8)

at 2.2 you are not overclocking :)

2.6 Ghz -> 290 HTT, HTT multiplier x3, set to DDR266
2.7 Ghz -> 300 HTT
2.8 Ghz -> 350 HTT, CPU mul x8, DDR200 -> prime ok, but not stable in 3dmark (7800 pumping more juice)

CaptNKILL
08-05-05, 09:35 AM
with no voltage tweak, i can run my 3000+ at 2.6Ghz with SLI 7800 GTX on A8N SLI deluxe
i run actually at 2.7Ghz 1.5V, and can hit 2.8 prime95 (bios 1011 limit voltage to 1.55 Max!!!!?)
all this on air cooled XP90c at max load temp 48 Celsius (49 at 2.8)

at 2.2 you are not overclocking :)

2.6 Ghz -> 290 HTT, HTT multiplier x3, set to DDR266
2.7 Ghz -> 300 HTT
2.8 Ghz -> 350 HTT, CPU mul x8, DDR200 -> prime ok, but not stable in 3dmark (7800 pumping more juice)
How can you hit 2.6 without adjusting the voltage? Mine is running at +0.3v to get to 2.5 :p

Zurble
08-05-05, 09:46 AM
perhaps i got a good one :), i was realy impressed to get 2.6 without raising voltage on that 1.8 chip
at 2.7 i had to raise to 1.5 and 1.55 for 2.8
but once you reach the point where you have to raise the voltage, it starts to need a lot of volts to get a few Mhz...
My bios limit is 1.55v, too bad

edit: but it is not only a question of luck, i saw a lot of 3000+ venice reaching 2.7 with little voltage/aircooled
you have to find a shop where they get new batch. The mobo/PSU plays a great part in stability too

LBJM
08-05-05, 01:20 PM
perhaps i got a good one :), i was realy impressed to get 2.6 without raising voltage on that 1.8 chip
at 2.7 i had to raise to 1.5 and 1.55 for 2.8
but once you reach the point where you have to raise the voltage, it starts to need a lot of volts to get a few Mhz...
My bios limit is 1.55v, too bad

edit: but it is not only a question of luck, i saw a lot of 3000+ venice reaching 2.7 with little voltage/aircooled
you have to find a shop where they get new batch. The mobo/PSU plays a great part in stability too

what are you running you multiplier, fsb, and ht at?

Zurble
08-05-05, 04:00 PM
actually i am at 2.7 Ghz (screenshot in the sticky thread)
running 300 HTT with HTT link x3, CPU x9, DDR266 -> CPU/14 -> 193Mhz, and 1.5V (althought it displays 1.55 in cpuz with prime95 running)...Max load temp 48C
aircooled XP90c