PDA

View Full Version : 7800gtx performance in battlefield 2

Pages : [1] 2

chief barker
08-02-05, 02:49 PM
I have been running my new 7800 gtx in my pc for a few weeks now (previously had an X800 XT).

Although the card is running great, I am a little concerned about the framerates i am getting in battlefield 2.

Sometimes when the heat of battle gets very hot I only get about 30 fps. I have all the settings in game set to high, with 4x aa. And AA and AF in the driver control panel set to app pref. Also Transparency antialiasing set to multisample.

Is this normal? or am i expecting too much from my rig?

Before i installed the 7800 i used drivercleaner pro to wipe any remnants of the ATI related stuff. And also un-installed all my games.

Sorry If I sound like a complete idiot but i am new to NVIDIA.

Any other help would be greatly appreciated.

P4 3.6 Prescott
7800gtx
ASUS P5GDC DELUXE MOBO (915 CHIPSET)
160GB HDD
460W PSU
2GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM (4 sticks of 512mb)

jAkUp
08-02-05, 02:55 PM
What resolution are you running it at?

I can pretty much guarantee you that it's your CPU, the game is extremely CPU bound. I would recommend OC'ing your CPU, you should see your performance increase by a good margin.

anzak
08-02-05, 02:56 PM
Sounds like your cpu limited. I was getting dips into the low 20s before overclocking my processor from 1.8Ghz to 2.2Ghz.

EDIT: Meh jAkUp beat me to it. :P

SH64
08-02-05, 02:58 PM
What res you play at ? .. that sounds normal to me however.
besides your CPU can have a role in this as well.

my only notice with BF2 & nvidia cards is the low framerate during shell shock (motion blur effect) & smoke. otherwise its smooth.

chief barker
08-02-05, 02:59 PM
I am running the game at 1280x1024. Through the command line.

Strange thing is, the in-game video options show the highest resolution as 1152x940 or something.

Any ideas?

Zurble
08-02-05, 03:01 PM
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/geforce_7800_gtx_overclocked/page15.asp