PDA

View Full Version : Which Drivers for Need For Speed Underground 2 (and 6800 series card)?


Viventis
08-02-05, 05:12 PM
I recently purchased Need For Speed Underground 2 after enjoying #1 for quite a while. It appears that there is a terrible problem when you patch the game to 1.02 and you have a 6800 GT (in my case AGP). The menu freezes and unfreezes (for about 5 seconds). You have to reboot to escape from the lockup. The 1.02 patch was supposed to fix some problem with the 6800 cards but it has made things worse. I can play without patching the game but can't go online without the latest version.

Nothing at EA addresses this although 5 or 6 people in the forum there have the same problem. Supposedly, rolling the drivers back can fix this, but EA Games has made it necessary to use new drivers if you also want to play Battlefield 2.

Any help appreciated.

Shamrock
08-02-05, 06:43 PM
both officials 77.72 & 77.76 freeze up NFSU2, I am currently using the XG 77.62 Type 3's and have raced NFSU2 for over 3 hours straight with no problems....not to mention they are fast and have great IQ

Viventis
08-02-05, 07:59 PM
Checking all over the net, I found that unticking "depth of field" in the customize visuals screen allows fluid play with the latest drivers.

Now...how to get 1280 x 1024 with a DVI LCD monitor!!!!!

OWA
08-02-05, 08:02 PM
Checking all over the net, I found that unticking "depth of field" in the customize visuals screen allows fluid play with the latest drivers.

Now...how to get 1280 x 1024 with a DVI LCD monitor!!!!!
Search the game forum. There is a solution to the 1280x1024 problem. I can't remember the solution off-hand but I think it was a simple registry change.

Edit: Actually, I found it...

Originally Posted by frangus
Hi all, I found the solution. It seems like it's a game issue, as eduardmc mentioned. The solution is in the registry:

In Registry Editor, go to My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHI
NE\SOFTWARE\EA GAMES\Need for Speed Underground 2 and change the key that says g_RacingResolution.

0 = 640x480
1 = 800x600
2 = 1024x768
3 = ??? - Crashes for me
4 = 1280x1024
5 = 1600x1200 (confirmed)
6 = ??? - Haven't tested

I have tested and confirmed that "5" is 1600x1200 and it works perfectly on my setup now.

Hope this helps anyone with this problem.

Viventis
08-02-05, 08:29 PM
The registry hack did the trick!!! Ain't the internet great?

As far as the "depth of field" , it looks like Nvidia dropped the ball rather than EA Games. It seems that Nvidia dropped suppport for this feature in the last several driver releases (must have caused problems in another game). Unfortunately, EA had coded the game patch assuming the feature was there.

Shamrock
08-02-05, 09:11 PM
I ran my NFS on 16x12 and it still froze up, on 77.72 & 77.76 :(

crainger
08-02-05, 11:26 PM
Checking all over the net, I found that unticking "depth of field" in the customize visuals screen allows fluid play with the latest drivers.

Now...how to get 1280 x 1024 with a DVI LCD monitor!!!!!

I found adding the custom res of 1280 x 960 in the nvidia control panel allowed my to select 1280 x 1024 in NFS, along with a selection of other games.

Viventis
08-15-05, 12:40 PM
Unticking "Depth of Field" got me through the menu freeze up and allowed me to get into the game. Unfortunately, the problem started again after four or five races. The same "5 seconds on 15 seconds" off issue now occurs in Free Roam mode! Ack!!! This game is fun! I want to play it. Help!

fivefeet8
08-15-05, 01:12 PM
With recent drivers, there is an issue with the NFSU2 game profile which causes freezes. You can use nhancer to remove the default NFSu2 game profile and make your own. That should fix it. Depth of Field works fine on my system with no slowdown.

Viventis
08-16-05, 05:47 PM
With recent drivers, there is an issue with the NFSU2 game profile which causes freezes. You can use nhancer to remove the default NFSu2 game profile and make your own. That should fix it. Depth of Field works fine on my system with no slowdown.

I can attest that using Nhancer to delete and create a new profile worked. I am now playing NFSU2 with all the eye candy turned up to the max with no issues. Thanks everyone who contributed.

LabShark
08-18-05, 03:30 PM
Thanks for the good news update. Good info. It is a cool/addicting game with everything cranked up.

agentkay
08-18-05, 05:49 PM
Has anyone ever noticed the "Depth of Field" effect in NFSU2? I have not, no matter what driver version I have used but then again I never noticed the Depth of Field bug or its side effect in v1.0 or v1.2 of the game either?

john19055
08-19-05, 12:41 AM
I use the 77.13 driver and it works fine,but I had the same problems with the newer drivers.

ThePhenome
08-20-05, 01:42 AM
with 77.77 driver it is work great with me. I think all the new drivers should work great.
I think the problem begin with Nvidia when they decide to put an Built-in NFS U2 profile!.
it's realy a shame.
use NHancer and Remove this Bad profile!.
Now Hit NFS U2 Icons and Enojy the Game.
At least that works with me.

rflair
08-20-05, 08:33 AM
You can also just rename the speed2.exe to anything else, remember to edit the shortcut to reflect the new name also and the game will start and run fine. This just tricks the nvdida drivers into not realizing the game is starting and therefore not apply any profile to it.