PDA

View Full Version : Crash to blue screen error, nv4_disp


JoshM
08-06-05, 12:33 AM
When I play bf2, the game will crash my computer into a blue screen after playing for a while.

The blue screen error says there is a problem with the nv4_disp file and it is getting stuck in an infinite loop.

I have tried many different driver versions, all after uninstalling using drivercleaner.

Specs:
MSI ATI Radeon Xpress PCI mobo
BFG 6600gt OC PCIe 128mb
1 gig RAM
420w PSU

Doe sanybody know how I can fix this?

Acid Rain
08-06-05, 04:53 AM
Interestingly enough, other system problems can cause that blue screen. Even if your motherboard chipset is the one that caused the infinite loop to start with, nv4_disp is often blamed, presumably because that's where the loop is reported. This is my understanding, anyway.

Try newer (perhaps beta) mb drivers, if you haven't already. I haven't seen enough reports on that chipset yet to know if it's a common issue, but, as far as I know, it's not a common issue with that graphics card.

laydback
08-06-05, 09:50 AM
Did you try disabling DEP?

edit c:\boot.ini , change NoExec=OptIn to AlwaysOff , save and reboot

JoshM
08-06-05, 02:54 PM
Hi, thanks both of you for your help.

What is the DEP?

And I can't figure out which drivers I should try to download for my motherboard.
These are the ones I'm currently using
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/driver/dvr/spt_dvr_list.php?part=1&kind=1&CHIP=1&COM=7
The second one down the page.

Should I try something else?

Do I need drivers for my chipset? It's an AMD 3200+

Thanks for the help.

laydback
08-06-05, 04:55 PM
Data Execution Prevention , a feature that athon64's have that causes problems with the forceware drivers.

JoshM
08-06-05, 05:02 PM
I will try that tonight and let you know if I still have the problem, Thanks.

JoshM
08-06-05, 06:49 PM
Hmm....I typed in C:\boot.ini in windows explorer, and this is all I see.
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect

Acid Rain
08-06-05, 09:39 PM
Do I need drivers for my chipset? It's an AMD 3200+

Thanks for the help.Try Live Update (http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/software/swr/spt_swr_list.php?kind=1). It's the fifth one down, version 3.72. Works quite well.

I'd use it to get the bios updated. I always manually update my drivers, but you can use Live Update to get those as well.

If you want to manually install drivers, what is your mainboard model number?
Also, are you using Win64? Or WinXP?

Lastly, and redundantly, maybe just use Live Update to make sure your needs get handled.

JoshM
08-06-05, 09:41 PM
Hi,

It is RS480M2

Thanks

Acid Rain
08-06-05, 09:45 PM
Hi,

It is RS480M2

ThanksGood. So we know that now. Make sure to get the proper one for your OS (Win64 or WinXP). Not saying you didn't, but you never know.

Again, definitely use LiveUpdate to get the latest bios installed.

JoshM
08-06-05, 09:53 PM
OK, I have that installed, thanks.

I installed some drivers from ATI's website today also.

laydback
08-06-05, 11:13 PM
Are you running XP Service Pack 2?

HOT1
08-08-05, 01:31 AM
Did you try disabling DEP?

edit c:\boot.ini , change NoExec=OptIn to AlwaysOff , save and reboot
so should this look like this
NoExec=AlwaysOff ?
EDIT
went in to Startup & Recovery
Settings -Edit
and just put in-/ Alwaysoff

JoshM
08-15-05, 09:58 PM
I'm still having this problem. I can't figure out anything to fix it.