PDA

View Full Version : 8Xs AA


FD76
08-07-05, 10:24 PM
Anyone having trouble running 8XS with the 77.76 drivers? Ive had trouble with a few games now.

Acid Rain
08-08-05, 03:28 AM
Yes. Lower fps. It's a big problem with new games and 6800GT+. :D

Seriously, I haven't had problems at all yet, but I don't use 8xS in everything. We need more info.

What problems, in which games?

superklye
08-08-05, 07:15 AM
I was under the impression that 8xS was broken and, in some cases, was worse than 4x. Has this been changed in recent driver releases?

gstanford
08-08-05, 12:06 PM
I noticed 8xS seemed slightly slow in Mafia, but I had it set there because the 77.72 drivers didn't seem to like the combined 16x AA much. Mafia runs fast and well with 16x AA using XG 77.76.

SH64
08-08-05, 01:15 PM
What kind of troubles ??

gram_vaz
08-08-05, 02:29 PM
i didn't notice a performance hit hit but with 8xs i get weird tiny bars sometimes on the edges of the screen... i'm using 77.50.

gstanford
08-08-05, 06:28 PM
nVidia always seems to be optimizing AA modes from what I can can tell. 8xS (both old & new) look better than 77.72 with 77.76 but perform worse.

Another interesting example (that I haven't yet checked in 77.76) is 3dmark05 2x AA vs 4x AA. Logically, you'd expect 2x to be faster, however it's much slower than 4x (testing consists of running the demo, not the benchmark - I hardly ever use the benchmarks as actual benchmarks - I look for IQ, smoothness, AA & AF quality during playback instead).

ChrisRay
08-08-05, 06:48 PM
I was under the impression that 8xS was broken and, in some cases, was worse than 4x. Has this been changed in recent driver releases?


Only for NV3x hardware. 8xS works quite well on NV4x +

FD76
08-08-05, 10:15 PM
So far.. WoW locks up, HL2 reboots, and Roller Coaster Tycoon, locks up as well. I haven't tried anymore than that. All of which run fine with 4x. Also... any tried quincinux in BF2? I had problems with that as well.

SH64
08-08-05, 10:32 PM
So far.. WoW locks up, HL2 reboots, and Roller Coaster Tycoon, locks up as well. I haven't tried anymore than that. All of which run fine with 4x. Also... any tried quincinux in BF2? I had problems with that as well.

Does HL2 reboots for you when starting the game or randomly while playing ??

gram_vaz
08-08-05, 10:49 PM
So far.. WoW locks up, HL2 reboots, and Roller Coaster Tycoon, locks up as well. I haven't tried anymore than that. All of which run fine with 4x. Also... any tried quincinux in BF2? I had problems with that as well.
yea, i get a couple games where the game will be unplayable with 8xs. i guess that counts as a performance hit. doesn't bug me going down to 4xaa as i can't really tell the difference between 4x and 8xs. i'm not the sort to closely monitor the screen for differences. :afro: