PDA

View Full Version : CAn't set 2D to same as 3D in coolbits!


Eltigre88
08-12-05, 05:47 PM
When I try to set 2D to even with 3D setting it says that it failed. How is this possible?? So far I am not very impressed with this card. I only gain 20 frames on the Doom3 benchmark and only 4000 on 3dmark03. Pretty depressing! :(

DoomUK
08-12-05, 05:56 PM
You do not need to OC your 2D performance, it's pointless, as it will only take effect in 2D apps, which for the most part don't require massive graphics acceleration anyway. You're just putting stress on your GPU for no reason. I think the function is just there for troubleshooting purposes...

What did you upgrade from?

Clay
08-12-05, 06:30 PM
Did you run DriverCleaner before installing your 6800GT?

Eltigre88
08-13-05, 09:54 AM
My card before was 6800GT and now is 7800GTX. I'm getting kicked out of the game issues to bluescreen message and then it reboots all by it self. I was messing with settings to try and get rid of this issue. It is a fresh install of windows.

Clay
08-13-05, 10:37 AM
Ok...so did you run DriverCleaner before installing your 7800 GTX?

ViN86
08-13-05, 10:39 AM
i dont understand why 2d needs to be OC'd.....

if you can OC further on 3d, thats more preferred. games all run in 3d mode anyways.

Eltigre88
08-13-05, 11:13 AM
Ok...so did you run DriverCleaner before installing your 7800 GTX?

Um if it is a clean install of windows, why would I need to use drivercleaner?

OWA
08-13-05, 11:22 AM
i dont understand why 2d needs to be OC'd.....

if you can OC further on 3d, thats more preferred. games all run in 3d mode anyways.
With the 6800 series, having them set the same sometimes helped with stability/stuttering. So, he was probably hoping that would help with the 7800 as well.

Clay
08-13-05, 11:39 AM
Um if it is a clean install of windows, why would I need to use drivercleaner?Sorry, I misunderstood. I thought you meant that you had only done a fresh install of Windows prior to the 6800GT.

Eltigre88
08-15-05, 01:55 PM
With the 6800 series, having them set the same sometimes helped with stability/stuttering. So, he was probably hoping that would help with the 7800 as well.

You are correct, but in my case it ended up being something way messed up in windows. I did a repair of the operating system and the problem went away.

Eltigre88
08-15-05, 02:01 PM
Sorry, I misunderstood. I thought you meant that you had only done a fresh install of Windows prior to the 6800GT.

That's cool! No worries! Thanks!