PDA

View Full Version : Video Card for a 2800+


Ugly Genius
08-15-05, 08:56 PM
I been out of the hardware game for longer than I care to admit and I am way outta sync with the hardware scene, so I need your advice.

I'm running a Barton 2800+ and want to upgrade my video card from a GeForce 3 Ti500 to something faster. (I love the Ti500 but it's time to put it out to pasture.)

What is a good video card, performance-wise, to match with the 2800+?

I'm thinking of the 6800GT, but I wasn't sure if this would end up being $300 of overkill.

What do you think? Any advice you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
UG

$n][pErMan
08-15-05, 09:04 PM
6800GT would be perfect for it. Im running my GT OC'ed to Ultra and im still on a Barton 2800+. However... my 2800+ is overclocked to 2.5Ghz and that does play a huge part. But you should also consider OC'ing that CPU. They OC great and it will give you more life out of your system if you do it right :)

Ugly Genius
08-15-05, 09:23 PM
Thanks, Sniper. I'll look more seriously into the 6800 GT.

As for overclocking, I'll have to invest in a better heatsink and fan as my Barton is currently being stock cooled.

jAkUp
08-15-05, 09:23 PM
Yup go with the GT.

Ugly Genius
08-15-05, 09:26 PM
Thanks to you too, jakUp.

Mr_LoL
08-15-05, 09:34 PM
Is the 6800 gt still good cuz battlefield 2 is killing my system?

$n][pErMan
08-15-05, 09:42 PM
Is the 6800 gt still good cuz battlefield 2 is killing my system?
BF2 is just a poorly coded game .. its not your system. Some have said 2 gigs of ram helped fix it. I myself am getting 2gigs this week (for other reasons)... but I fixed the problem with my 1gig just by messing with my memory timings and ctrl-alt-del some backround programs.

Thanks, Sniper. I'll look more seriously into the 6800 GT.

As for overclocking, I'll have to invest in a better heatsink and fan as my Barton is currently being stock cooled.
I suggest this fan right here.... same one I use and its badass. As much as my CPU is OC'ed .. it idles at 39c .. and under full load about 48c. :D
http://www.frozencpu.com/cpu-zal-18.html

Mr_LoL
08-15-05, 09:43 PM
[pErMan']BF2 is just a poorly coded game .. its not your system. Some have said 2 gigs of ram helped fix it. I myself am getting 2gigs this week (for other reasons)... but I fixed the problem with my 1gig just by messing with my memory timings and ctrl-alt-del some backround programs.

I was wondering that because it doesnt look as good as far cry and that runs fine on my machine.