PDA

View Full Version : LED Case to Motherboard problem

jasper1106
08-16-05, 09:41 AM
Hi guys,

I am building up a 2.8 GHZ machine. I have just purchased a new case (incl Powersupply) and I am putting in an older motherboard as it is perfectly capable.

I am a bit of a noob at these sorts of things but I can usually fumble my way through and get them working.

My problem however this new case has a 3 PIN power LED connector and my motherboard only has 2 PINS for the PWR LED. As you can imagine if I plugged it in anyway one of the pins on the connector will overlap into another PIN Sector I think its reset or something. Shifting everything over by 1 pin and then my speaker connector will be hanging off the board.

I have read a few bits and pieces on the net but to be honest this has confused me even more.

I read on some articles Power LED / Keylock . I have keylock pins on my motherboard the opposite side on the adapter as per usual. Is this some sort of work around for the problem I am having? In otherwords can I plug the 3 pin PWR LED into the 4 avaliable pin keylock pins???

Any help would be greatfully received!

Many Thanks

Starscream
08-16-05, 10:30 AM
Usually you can get a 3 pin power led to work with a 2 pin plug by moving the green wire over one pin hole. You can slip the green wire out of that black plastic end by bending up the little piece of plastic over it on the back.

If you've got the keylock stuff too though try having the pc on and plugging it in at the different ends of that block, try flipping it over even and see if that works.

Kojiro
08-16-05, 11:53 AM
First try and see that the pins you are puting your power led is not the not the power on switch pins. Power on switch and power led are both two pin, on the led pin it is just using a 3 pin plug so that you will not confuse it for the power on. Look at the plug and notice that pin 1 and pin 3 are used and pin 2 does not exist.