PDA

View Full Version : HDTV out


UDawg
08-19-05, 03:44 PM
I am sure this has been asked before but I am to lazy to search for it.

Where do I get one of these? http://htpcnews.com/images/6xxx/dongleclose.jpg
http://htpcnews.com/main.php?id=6xxx_5

If I can get one will it work with my 6800 ultra.

I checked all the manufactures and no one seems to sell just that adaptor.
I want to play WoW on my HDTV. :D

sharangad
08-19-05, 04:07 PM
From here:

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=220177

If you have a 9 pin mini-DIN socket on yer card and 'tis a GF6 or GF7, it should work.

sharangad
08-19-05, 04:10 PM
Or if you live in Australia:

http://www.i-tech.com.au/products/5879_SPARKLE_Nvidia_Geforce_6_SERIES_HDTV.asp

I dunno if Scan ship to the US and I doubt i-tech ship outside Australia.

I got mine by contacting the RMA department of my card manufacturer (XFX).

They shipped it out for free, but took a long time to get around to it.

I spent quite a bit of time trying to find one. I even tried the ATi 9 pin mini-DIN to component adapter. This sorta worked, except that one colour (blue, I think ) was wired differently.

GlowStick
08-19-05, 04:12 PM
Hm, to my knowledge the 6800 ultras have a Svideo out, but the 7800's and 6600's use a diffrent connector. For example even if i want to use svideo i have to use the dongle.

However if you want to try, may i recomend posting a WTB thread on some forums, people who bought SLi 7800's probly ended up wtih two and may be willing to part with em for cheep!

sharangad
08-19-05, 04:17 PM
Also if yer playing games with a HDTV make sure the game supports resolutions like 720x480, 720x576 (SDTV and EDTV), 1280x720, 1920x1080 (HDTV). If it doesn't and yer in 720x576 and the game switches to 640x480, the image will be zoomed into ( despite being a lower resolution than the display). nVidia's display driver user guide states that there's no fix for games which don't query the monitor properties and hard code the res. Also, since the TV is proly widescreen, it might be a good idea to see if the game supports 16:9 aspect ratios, otherwise things might be stretched.

If the game doesn't support the resolutions, usually they can have their config file changed or even the EXE patched. I once had to change 8 bytes in Prince of Persia to turn 640x480 into 720x576 ( which is the SDTV res I play at, using the component output. )