PDA

View Full Version : Pentium III era question


Treason
08-25-05, 03:53 PM
Friend has an old Abit BE6 (Intel 440BX) running a Katmai 500 MHz. The motherboard can support up to 800 MHz. Looking on eBay, he can see there are slot 1 800 MHz (100 FSB) and socket 370 PPGA 800 MHz (100 FSB) CPU's.

Could he use any slot-1 to socket 370 converters and get the socket 370 800 MHz CPU? Also is there anything fundamentally different between the slot-1 and socket 370 800 MHz CPU's? The slot-1's regularly sell for $50+ and the socket 370's sell for $30 or less.

GlowStick
08-25-05, 04:04 PM
I rember back in the day they had a 'slocket converter' witch turned a slot mobo into a socket one. You will have to find one of those and check its specs to see if it supports your mobo and proposed cpu. However in most cases they work fine. Just tracking one down will be hard.

Clay
08-25-05, 04:10 PM
If my memory serves me right, there isn't a significant difference between the two. I had one of the ABIT Slotkets (http://www.weirdstuff.com/cgi-bin/item/13139) back then and it worked perfectly.

GlowStick
08-25-05, 04:17 PM
Ah, the big diffrence was the l2 cach was on die (like todays processors) and hte slot wasent. thats how the slot 1 p3 xeon's has such huge cash. like 4mb+?

ragejg
08-25-05, 10:56 PM
Maybe I read this all too fast, but I do believe the PowerLeap upgrades are still available, for like $79... This is for either the 1.2 or 1.4ghz Celeron cpu... I don't know the cache size however.

But in my opinion, $79 could be better spent on an Athlon XP cpu and a SDR/DDR mobo, like the 'ol trusty ECS K7S5A, so the SDR from the P3 mobo could be used for the time being. After doing such a thing, the potential for the setup would increase dramatically, as one of those mobos with, uhh, I dunno, a 2.0-2.2ghz XP/Sempron chip, a gig or a gig and a half of DDR, and a modern-ish video card would actually run pretty sweet... for a 32 bit rig anyway ;) ...

:)

Treason
08-26-05, 11:19 PM
Thanks for the info admins. I might be able to get a 1.3 GHz Tualatin & FCPGA2 to slot-1 Powerleap converter locally or a straight up slot-1 850 MHz.