PDA

View Full Version : Question about adding ram


bonchez
08-25-05, 07:32 PM
I currently have 1GB PC3200 (2X 512mb PC3200 sticks) of ram. I also have another computer that is using 1GB PC2100 (2X 512mb PC2100 sticks). I was wondering if I took one of the 512mb PC2100 sticks and put it with the two PC3200 sticks would make my computer noticeable faster? I'd have 1.5GB of ram, however since one stick is slower doesn't that slow down the other ones? So, I guess the question I am asking is what would be faster:

1GB PC3200 (2X 512mb PC3200 sticks)

or

1.5GB (2X 512mb PC3200 and 1X PC2100 sticks)

Thanks.....

Scorpiuscat
08-25-05, 07:58 PM
The problem you would run into is your computer will default to the slowest RAM.

IN this case you would lose the advatages of your 3200 RAM and everything would run at 2100.

Stick with the 3200 all the way.

zachary
08-25-05, 09:06 PM
Unless your bios lets you manually specify the speed of your ram. I've run two pc3200's and one pc2100 in the same machine all at 3200 speeds. This won't work in all cases though, since I doubt all 2100 sticks can clock up to 200mhz. Dual channel also comes into this, if you were using dual channel with your two original sticks you'd also lose that by adding another.

Blakhart
08-25-05, 11:59 PM
Well, you will only notice an improvement if you were short on memory with the 1g total. If so, then the answer is yes. If not, the answer's no. What I mean by this is do you run apps that take every bit of memory and yet need more? That's what I mean by short on memory.

bonchez
08-29-05, 07:15 PM
Well, you will only notice an improvement if you were short on memory with the 1g total. If so, then the answer is yes. If not, the answer's no. What I mean by this is do you run apps that take every bit of memory and yet need more? That's what I mean by short on memory.


Such as Battlefield 2?

bonchez
08-29-05, 08:14 PM
I took out the other 512mb stick from my other computer. And to my amazement it turned out to be a PC2700 stick. So I left the PC2100 in the computer and put in a 256mb PC2100 stick. I did notice a considerable preformance increase in BF2. I'm pretty happy :)