PDA

View Full Version : HDR , Wen can I use it..?


[TrollFX]
08-27-05, 03:22 PM
I have purchased the 7800 GTX , right around a couple of days when they were launched , I love this card , chews through BF2 with all settings max..and any other games I play , but the question is this..is HDR an option that can be enabled in the control panel or is used by games/software in game setting toggle only..? Thx for the answers.. :)

gram_vaz
08-27-05, 03:24 PM
it has to be enabled in the game like farcry.

Knot3D
08-27-05, 03:27 PM
Splinter Cell Chaos Theory was one of the first games to have HDR effects from launch ; you can toggle it ON / OFF in the settings menu.

SH64
08-27-05, 03:29 PM
Not all games have HDR though .. only a few of them for the time being like the ones mentioned above.

OWA
08-27-05, 03:35 PM
Out of the ones I have, these have HDR: Far Cry, Cross Racing Championship 2005 (demo), SCCT, and Lego Star Wars.

[TrollFX]
08-27-05, 03:39 PM
Thx for the replies guys.. :D

avirox
08-27-05, 08:47 PM
Few released games have HDR and fewer still had it at release. The Lego SW game has nice HDR effects but lord know why you'd buy that just for the effect hehe. FarCry and SC:CT are your best bets till Lost Coast is out. Any word on if AA will be possible with HDR?? Peace,

keith33
08-27-05, 09:03 PM
Lego Star Wars has HDR? WOW, I'm so getting that today. How does it look?

thecrazykevy
08-27-05, 09:21 PM
Lego Star Wars has HDR? WOW, I'm so getting that today. How does it look?
:eek: How can a lego game have HDR and so many others do not? I'm pretty sure the kids that do play Lego Star Wars have no idea what HDR is.

gram_vaz
08-27-05, 09:25 PM
^ i think it was a marketing deal with nvidia. at the install you get a notice of all the fancy effects you get with nvidia ps3.0 cards.

thecrazykevy
08-27-05, 11:55 PM
^ i think it was a marketing deal with nvidia. at the install you get a notice of all the fancy effects you get with nvidia ps3.0 cards.
Now that I think about it, it makes sense. Adding fancy HDR effects is the only way to get those who own high end Nvidia cards to buy a lego game. :D

gzunk
08-28-05, 02:37 PM
Hey, I've got the Lego Starwars Game! And I bought it before I got my 7800's. Sow how do I switch HDR on or is it on by default?

jolle
08-28-05, 02:41 PM
Lego Star Wars has HDR? WOW, I'm so getting that today. How does it look?
doesnt seem to make much of a difference there.
the most tangible implemenation is Farcry where it uses AutoExponation, the "camera" changes exposure depending on the lightlevels.

OWA
08-28-05, 03:07 PM
Hey, I've got the Lego Starwars Game! And I bought it before I got my 7800's. Sow how do I switch HDR on or is it on by default?

It's under video options / advanced settings. It may be on by default if you have a card that supports it.

gzunk
08-29-05, 10:43 AM
Just played through episode one - Fantastic! Even better than Far Cry! :)