PDA

View Full Version : 2gb vs. 1gb


Pages : [1] 2

extreme4377
08-27-05, 06:39 PM
Ive got a friend interested in buying my Corsair ram for 160 bucks. Im looking at getting this (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227210) to replace it. Anything wrong with this idea? I know I really dont need it but its such a good deal. Itll set me back a mere 110 bucks for a good set of 2x1gb sticks.

Anything, besides me not needing it, that I should let stop me?

EDIT: btw, no overclocking for me

$n][pErMan
08-27-05, 07:03 PM
BUY IT! :D I have the same exact ram and im running 400Mhz 2-3-2-5 @ 1T with 2.7volts (its acctually under warrenty to 2.8volts). and everything (even BF2 with full settings) runs perfect :) You will be pissed at yourself if you don't get it ;)

extreme4377
08-27-05, 08:28 PM
Thanks, Im highly considering it. Anyone else have an opinion?

Scorpiuscat
08-27-05, 09:42 PM
I dont know how much good 2BG of RAM will do you right now, but you never know, there may be games that can use that.

Greg
08-27-05, 09:51 PM
If you get it, let us know if you get it running at 400mhz. The Athlon64 754 manual says the memory controller is not guaranteed to handle 2x double sided DIMM at 400 and may use 333mhz. (If you force it, it will often work, just with errors every now and then. I tried 3x DIMMS and got 4 errors in 10 hours of testing with MemTest86+).

extreme4377
08-27-05, 10:37 PM
My 1gb ram is working perfectly fine. Isnt it double sided? Its running at DDR400

Greg
08-27-05, 11:10 PM
My 1gb ram is working perfectly fine. Isnt it double sided? Its running at DDR400
Good to hear. Make sure you paranoid test it overnight. Nothing worse than an unstable system. If you have the new 939 core, my comments don't apply to that model. (Yes, your RAM is most likely double sided, I'm yet to see a single sided 1gb piece.)

Blacklash
08-27-05, 11:33 PM
I used 1gb(512x2) for a long time and I must say in the case of MMORPGs 2gb does seem much smoother in play. I also run with no paging file allocated. Too much hard drive access will rapidly kill FPS in just about any MMO you care to try.

If you do use a page file keep it on another hard drive separate from your OS and gaming applications to speed up performance.

extreme4377
08-28-05, 12:45 AM
Whats funny is that I rarely game and when I do, I only play UT2004, and a few demos here and there. I have the BF2 demo(I was never really interested in the whole game) which runs perfectly fine. I just want bragging rights and a future proof system. Or is the future DDR2?

Dazz
08-28-05, 11:14 AM
I gone from 1GB PC4800 to 2GB PC4000 There is a diffrence but very small, more noticable in Battlefield 2 thats for sure.

extreme4377
08-28-05, 01:36 PM
Ok guys. Looks like Ill be ordering the OCZ 2gb set today sometime. Im off to spend the day with the gf but when I return, I will post that I ordered. Stay tuned for pics :)

btw: thanks again!

$n][pErMan
08-28-05, 01:46 PM
^ Enjoy the ram when it arrives ... you will not be disapointed ;)

extreme4377
08-28-05, 10:11 PM
Thanks again for the help man. Appreciate it

fuelrod
08-29-05, 11:28 PM
More info to help with a decision; Corsair put together a study of the impact of going from 1 GB to 2 GB.

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/products/tech/AN506_1GB_vs_2GB.pdf

$n][pErMan
08-30-05, 02:02 PM
More info to help with a decision; Corsair put together a study of the impact of going from 1 GB to 2 GB.

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/products/tech/AN506_1GB_vs_2GB.pdf
That seems about right. I noticed almost no difference in benchmarks like Mark05 or 03 .... but I noticed a huge incease in performance on BF2 .. and even GTA:SA and Half-Life 2 when playing online.

extreme4377
08-30-05, 08:18 PM
Just got the ram installed. Sorry no pics yet. I was anxious to get it installed and up and running. Oo its so sexy tho!

top3koms
08-30-05, 08:44 PM
I just got in on the same OCZ PC3200 2Gb deal recently myself.It was too good of a deal to pass up with the rebate.

$n][pErMan
08-30-05, 08:55 PM
To be honest... I probably would have gotten it without the rebate myself. But I figured memory will probably go back up in price... I wanted 2 gigs that had kick ass timings ... and when I stumbled upon the deal I took it :D

Russ_64
09-01-05, 05:47 AM
I got my hands on the Geil 2Gb Value (Blue) Dual Channel Kit at Oc.UK for 145 and they are at NewEgg for $203 but Out of Stock ETA:09/02/05.

Run great at 200 with 3-4-4-8 @ 1T - now OC'd to 212 1:1 and still going UP !

extreme4377
09-01-05, 01:34 PM
I suppose I need to take those pictures dont I?

Anyways, RAM is awesome. Very high quality. I can see why OCZ is on top of Corsair at this point. Programs and games are much smoother and load times are a few seconds quicker. I can run firefox with 10 tabs open, Winamp going, DVD decrypter(backing up purposes), DVD shrink(again backing up), AIM, whatever no problem at all and Ive still got 1.5gigs of ram to mess with.

So my conclusion...
2gb vs. 1gb, definitely worth the money for 2gb. Not only do you get bragging rights, lots of RAM and then some more RAM, its 2gbs people!

EDIT: Read this if you want some money back BTW, I ordered when the ram was $269.95 with $27 rebate and I just had just rush my order for an extra 3 bucks. My total was $296.34. The price of the RAM is now $257 and has been for a few days and dont forget the rebate. I called Newegg yesterday, told them I ordered it at the higher price asked for a price adjustment(hey, I dont mind getting $12.95 back) and was told they dont really do that due to the high fluxuation of prices. I explained that Im a long time customer and have spent a good deal of money. Was very briefly put on hold, the girl returned and granted me the difference of $12.95. So, if you want that 13 bucks back, give newegg a call and talk to em. Maybe theyll do it for you!

extreme4377
09-06-05, 07:04 PM
A little late but...

Those pics I said I would take.
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3700/p90500515xs.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p90500515xs.jpg)http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/4180/p90500548do.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p90500548do.jpg)http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/169/p90500654xg.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p90500654xg.jpg)http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/5871/p90500713qh.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p90500713qh.jpg)http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3558/p90500667hd.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p90500667hd.jpg)

CaptNKILL
09-06-05, 07:22 PM
Wow thats clean... nice cable hiding :D

SH64
09-06-05, 07:26 PM
I hate you!! your case is so clean & no messy wiring :mad:

extreme4377
09-06-05, 09:27 PM
Haha. Thanks guys. I spent a good amount of time routing my cables as clean as possible. Now isnt that ram just soooo sexy? :)

SH64
09-06-05, 11:08 PM
Haha. Thanks guys. I spent a good amount of time routing my cables as clean as possible. Now isnt that ram just soooo sexy? :)

Yep i have the same model in my SLI PC (2x1GB DDR400 2-3-2-5) except mine are the Titanium edition :)