PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Hookup HDTV to Video Card


saweetnesstrev
08-28-05, 07:49 AM
This Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814122224

and this TV.

http://product.samsung.com/cgi-bin/nabc/product/b2c_product_detail.jsp?eUser=&prod_id=TXR3079WHX%2fXAA

would i use the HDTV cable (dont know if its HDMI) orrrr a DVI To HDMI cable..

I have 1 HDMI Output on my tv.

saweetnesstrev
08-28-05, 07:54 AM
Will the picture look ****ty just like S-video? :( i hope not :(

sharangad
08-28-05, 08:24 AM
All 7 series cards support HDTV out. Evidence:

'tis got the 9 pin mini-DIN which supports HDTV on the newer cards.

Also with the accessories they show the component output cable, which support 3 plugs for Component output, one for composite output ( shared with component ), 1x S-Video in and 1x S-Video out and 1xcomposite input which leads to a total of 6 plugs.

So yeah it should support HDTV out.

BrianG
08-28-05, 08:52 AM
You are going to use the TV as the PCs only monitor, right? You can use the component out, the tri-color connectors, or use a DVI to HDMI cable. I would recommend the DVI to HDMI, as the video card and windows will see the TV as just a normal monitor and the Component out may not display the boot screens.

The TV should see the default 640x480 signal fine. That is standard 4:3 480p. You may need to do some research online to find the native resolution of your TV, or you could try using the HDTV signal settings in the NVIDIA control panel. The driver automatically populates resolutions like 1920x1080 (1080i) or 1280x720 (720p).

I should go experiment on my plasma, just have not gotten around to it yet...

saweetnesstrev
08-28-05, 11:34 AM
my tv says it does 1080i, 720p, 480p i wanna do 720p Video Games, im gonna order a DVI to HDMI Cable http://www.monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=2445 200 dollars for 1 meter... Will this make my picture perfect in 720p gaming?

GlowStick
08-28-05, 01:18 PM
No, monster cables are junk. Just get a geneirc brand and it will beh the same. However, this could e a wording issue, but woudlnt you need DVi to HDMI? Their website only has BS and no information about their product.

Also, i would like to add that you should buy it from a place that you know you can return it.

Because, you may not be satifsfied with the Image Quality you get from your TV. For example, my parnets HDTV clame the same modes, but in all of them they are 'blurry'. My best example is they are like a small CRT that you crank up its res to its super maximum res. Like the pixels are getting drawn ontop of them selfs. However your TV may be better. So good thing to test.

keith33
08-28-05, 01:22 PM
From personal experience, I've noticed a huge difference between Monster Cable and generic stuff. DVI to HDMI is great, it keeps everything digital. Just make sure to connect your sound card to a reciever using THX quality cables as well. I run Windows on my HDTV at 1080i and it looks great without distortion. (btw I have a Toshiba DLP 46 inch HMX85)

GlowStick
08-28-05, 01:34 PM
For info on why Monster sucks read http://www.dansdata.com/ you can even ask him your self, he usually likes to answer Monster related questions. But what it gets down to is they just add 'electrial engeneering buzz' words and dont even use them correctly.

For example, if mosnter was selling dells they would say something like this.

This super leet dell has a Fast Intel processor wiht HyperTransport technolog. It has a lightning fast hard drive that runs at a quad pumped 800Mhz. It supports USB, C++, C and is Java technology enabled. It has CrossFire AND SLi etc...

BrianG
08-28-05, 02:05 PM
From personal experience, I've noticed a huge difference between Monster Cable and generic stuff. DVI to HDMI is great, it keeps everything digital. Just make sure to connect your sound card to a reciever using THX quality cables as well. I run Windows on my HDTV at 1080i and it looks great without distortion. (btw I have a Toshiba DLP 46 inch HMX85)
In that length of cable, the importance of build quality lessens. I use the Acoustic Research cables from Best Buy after reading a comparison test at avsforum where the reviewer gave the cheaper cables a subjective edge, or no edge heh, over all the more expensive cables out there.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=571150

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=496077

bigjohns97
08-28-05, 02:41 PM
my tv says it does 1080i, 720p, 480p i wanna do 720p Video Games, im gonna order a DVI to HDMI Cable http://www.monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=2445 200 dollars for 1 meter... Will this make my picture perfect in 720p gaming?

You r tv does 480i, 480p, 1080i not 720p.

720p is what you are looking for.

saweetnesstrev
08-29-05, 12:14 AM
My tv does 480i, 480p, 720i, 720p, 1080i says the manual.

BrianG
08-29-05, 06:34 AM
My tv does 480i, 480p, 720i, 720p, 1080i says the manual.
720i is not an HD standard. Odd.

bigjohns97
08-29-05, 11:01 AM
neither is 480i or 480p , while the manual says 720p the website doesn't mention it, i would make sure before you purchase anything.

720p is what you are looking for

BrianG
08-29-05, 12:37 PM
neither is 480i or 480p , while the manual says 720p the website doesn't mention it, i would make sure before you purchase anything.

720p is what you are looking for
480i is standard def broadcast, 480p is progressive rate format, primarily on DVD players with line-doublers. My plasma is a 480p display that line doubles 480i and downsamples 720p and 1080i. I can send 1080i or 720p, the TV manages the conversion and displays the image. I doubt the TV runs at a native resolution of 1280x720. CRTs often run at 1920x1080i, many LCDs use 1366x768 and plasmas run the gamut including 1024x1024 with rectangular pixels forcing users to input an HD format that needs to be converted. Even 480p plasmas vary a pixel or two in width depending on whose glass is used.

I doubt there is an HD ready product anymore that can not display 720p as Fox and ESPN chose 720p as their HD format. There is an element of trial and error here, but the TV seems to support all it needs to.

Rakeesh
08-29-05, 01:10 PM
From personal experience, I've noticed a huge difference between Monster Cable and generic stuff.

With analog cables yeah, but with digital cables they are all pretty much the same, and going with anything other than the cheapest is generally a waste. Especially DVI, they'd practically have to shield it with paper in order for you to get any signal drops.

In that length of cable, the importance of build quality lessens. I use the Acoustic Research cables from Best Buy after reading a comparison test at avsforum where the reviewer gave the cheaper cables a subjective edge, or no edge heh, over all the more expensive cables out there.

Aint it the truth, AR makes some damn good cables.

480i is standard def broadcast, 480p is progressive rate format, primarily on DVD players with line-doublers. My plasma is a 480p display that line doubles 480i and downsamples 720p and 1080i. I can send 1080i or 720p, the TV manages the conversion and displays the image. I doubt the TV runs at a native resolution of 1280x720. CRTs often run at 1920x1080i, many LCDs use 1366x768 and plasmas run the gamut including 1024x1024 with rectangular pixels forcing users to input an HD format that needs to be converted. Even 480p plasmas vary a pixel or two in width depending on whose glass is used.

I doubt there is an HD ready product anymore that can not display 720p as Fox and ESPN chose 720p as their HD format. There is an element of trial and error here, but the TV seems to support all it needs to.

1080p FTW :D

http://www.savinglots.com/lotprod.asp?item=LVM37W1

WimpMiester
08-31-05, 11:46 PM
To get HD TV from S-Video port all you have to do is set your Displays to Dual View. Then your TV will have the option to set the resolution all the way up to 1920x1080. If you want to play full screen video on the secondary display then you must first set your displays to clone mode. Then go to the Full screen Video tab and select Secondary Device as the full screen playback device. Switch back to Dual View and make sure the Full screen Video tab has auto-detect as the full screen device. I'm using and old Fisher TV (with S-Video/Composite converter) I got back in the 80's and it will do 1440x576! But I leave it at 1280x720 because thatís a standard HD resolution. So for people with older TV's you may still be able to get HD out of it! I can't believe my old TV in 1280x720 looks as good if not better when playing videos/movies from the computer as my digital satellite box.