PDA

View Full Version : New memory on the way


Pages : [1] 2

jAkUp
08-29-05, 05:32 PM
I'm sick and tired of my Corsair CL3 BS memory. They are completely limiting my OC.. I got 2GB's of these babies on the way :D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227206

DDR500 @ CL2? Yes please :D

Aphot
08-29-05, 05:34 PM
Good choice :)

CaptNKILL
08-29-05, 06:11 PM
Wow... $380 for ram? :p

jAkUp
08-29-05, 06:36 PM
Well, I'm gonna sell mine, and 2 of the sticks I traded a buddy for some parts :D

superklye
08-29-05, 07:27 PM
jAk, I think I'm going to start living vicariously throught you.

Blacklash
08-29-05, 09:45 PM
Yep if I were getting a 512x2 kit today it would be the OCZ VX or Mushkin Redline.

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=140565&AFFIL=FRG&NR=1

Now all you need is a FX-57 OCed to 3.0+ and you will have the one bad mofo for a rig.

Roliath
08-30-05, 10:11 AM
Your still going to be using 4x512MB which will still be 2T, right?
Why not get 2x1GB of the Crucial Ballistix? I'm guessing its the timings..
Can't go wrong with DDR500 at Cas2 though!
good luck

edit: I agree with the above post about the CPU, doesn't need to be a FX though. I was thinking along the lines of a Dual-Core or a 3700+/4000+ San Deigo. That would top off your rig just nicely!

FraGTastiK
08-30-05, 04:08 PM
oh man how could you cope with CL3 all this time?

good choice btw,but their high voltage requirements makes them unusable for Asus users like me. :(

I so much want a pair of these http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_el_ddr_pc_4800_platinum_elite_edition

they are just what my Asus board needs,2.8-3.0 v to see their full potential.

Dazz
08-30-05, 04:37 PM
Na i wouldn't, 3.3v is alot i find that the memory gets fairly warm at 3.1v and thats with a 120mm hovering over the top. And with out that fan they get VERY VERY HOT.

AthlonXP1800
09-01-05, 04:39 AM
Jakup, here are no difference with CL3 and CL2, I think you may picked the wrong memory, you will be surprise to see here are lots of CL3 memorys overclocked much better than CL2 on XtremeSystems Forum memory database (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67762). The highest overclocked memory are 300MHz (600MHz) Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 CL3 running at just 3.0v. 2x1GB are cost $399 (http://www.crucial.com/ballistix/store/listparts.asp?Productline=&mfr=Diamond+Flower+%28DFI%29&cat=&model=LANPARTY+UT+nF4+SLI-DR&submit.x=17&submit.y=18) at Crucial, you bought 2x1GB OCZ for $385. Maybe you could change your mind and want Crucial, I found the cheapest Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 2x1GB for $359 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6777845097&category=74942) on ebay. :D

Superfly
09-01-05, 05:32 AM
ballistix rule - when they work.

Superfly
09-01-05, 05:40 AM
dam my double post!!!

jAkUp
09-01-05, 10:11 AM
Jakup, here are no difference with CL3 and CL2, I think you may picked the wrong memory, you will be surprise to see here are lots of CL3 memorys overclocked much better than CL2 on XtremeSystems Forum memory database (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67762). The highest overclocked memory are 300MHz (600MHz) Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 CL3 running at just 3.0v. 2x1GB are cost $399 (http://www.crucial.com/ballistix/store/listparts.asp?Productline=&mfr=Diamond+Flower+%28DFI%29&cat=&model=LANPARTY+UT+nF4+SLI-DR&submit.x=17&submit.y=18) at Crucial, you bought 2x1GB OCZ for $385. Maybe you could change your mind and want Crucial, I found the cheapest Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 2x1GB for $359 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6777845097&category=74942) on ebay. :D

Well, I only payed for one of them... the other 2 sticks I traded a buddy for some parts... :) I would of gone with 2x1gb sticks if it were up to me... I want the 1T timing :)

toxikneedle
09-01-05, 11:08 AM
Jakup, here are no difference with CL3 and CL2, I think you may picked the wrong memory, you will be surprise to see here are lots of CL3 memorys overclocked much better than CL2 on XtremeSystems Forum memory database (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67762). The highest overclocked memory are 300MHz (600MHz) Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 CL3 running at just 3.0v. 2x1GB are cost $399 (http://www.crucial.com/ballistix/store/listparts.asp?Productline=&mfr=Diamond+Flower+%28DFI%29&cat=&model=LANPARTY+UT+nF4+SLI-DR&submit.x=17&submit.y=18) at Crucial, you bought 2x1GB OCZ for $385. Maybe you could change your mind and want Crucial, I found the cheapest Crucial Ballistix BL2KIT12864Z503 2x1GB for $359 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6777845097&category=74942) on ebay. :D
Newegg has the same ram for much cheaper. Also wouldn't CL3 mean slower load times?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146549

AthlonXP1800
09-01-05, 02:49 PM
Newegg has the same ram for much cheaper. Also wouldn't CL3 mean slower load times?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146549

That 1GB, not 2x1GB. I didnt noticed CL3 slower load times, I had CL2 512Mb TwinMOS memory in old system, to compare both, here are notice differences on applications loading time, on 4GB RAM CL3, the apps loaded on desktop 2 times faster than 512Mb RAM CL2, XP SP2 boot time with 4GB RAM CL3 took 5 secs compared to 20 secs on 512Mb RAM CL2. Far Cry loading a level on 512Mb RAM CL2 took 1 min and about 30 secs to reload, on 4GB RAM CL3 it took 5 secs to loading a level and 2 secs to reload a level.

toxikneedle
09-01-05, 03:31 PM
That 1GB, not 2x1GB. I didnt noticed CL3 slower load times, I had CL2 512Mb TwinMOS memory in old system, to compare both, here are notice differences on applications loading time, on 4GB RAM CL3, the apps loaded on desktop 2 times faster than 512Mb RAM CL2, XP SP2 boot time with 4GB RAM CL3 took 5 secs compared to 20 secs on 512Mb RAM CL2. Far Cry loading a level on 512Mb RAM CL2 took 1 min and about 30 secs to reload, on 4GB RAM CL3 it took 5 secs to loading a level and 2 secs to reload a level.
Can't you just buy the 1gb sticks twice? What's the diference?

Superfly
09-01-05, 03:38 PM
well not buying matched pairs when you intend to run them as such is generally a bad idea - I know from 1st hand experience with my Ballistix.

AthlonXP1800
09-01-05, 11:58 PM
Can't you just buy the 1gb sticks twice? What's the diference?

I had 2GB sticks 3 weeks ago installed in the new system, here were no difference between 2GB and 4GB on boot time and loading applications on desktop, on Far Cry level loading time with 2GB took 7 secs, reload took 4 secs. At a time when I was on Windows XP x64 played Far Cry while running apps in the background, Far Cry started shuttering, I thought it had to be the apps and switched to desktop to checked the Task Manager for memory resources, XP x64 had 172Mb left. I was surprised it ate all the memory resources and thought 2GB is enough for dual core multi-tasking. After bought another 2GB matched memory sticks, things getting better, XP x64 now has plenty of memory left to cope with 2GB and Far Cry no longer shuttering while many apps running in the background.

I currently running all 4GB RAM in dual channel at DDR400 clocked 216MHz, it overclocked my CPU to 2.38GHz, it as fast as a Athlon 64 X2 4800+. :)

jAkUp
09-02-05, 12:38 AM
Man I'm having major problems with these memory sticks. I am having a very difficult time getting any sort of decent OC out of them... I shall keep tweaking... Keep getting errors of corrupted windows files...

AthlonXP1800
09-02-05, 01:43 AM
Jakup, you having problems with brand new $385 memory sticks? I guess it not work very well with your motherboard, I checked the link you ordered the memory, the memory sticks is Gold VX series and I checked OCZ website for motherboard memory compatible (http://configurator.ocztechnology.com/result.asp?mn=LANPARTY+UT+nF4+SLI%2DDR&modelid=51997), it doesn't seem support Gold Series memory, it supported Value Series memory. Did you been flashed the latest BIOS (http://www.dfi.com.tw/Support/Download/bios_download_us.jsp?PRODUCT_ID=3449&CATEGORY_TYPE=LP&STATUS_FLAG=A&SITE=US) for your motherboard?

jAkUp
09-02-05, 01:57 AM
Yea I have that BIOS revision..

It seems that when I run just 2 of the sticks, the system runs and overclocks well.. when I throw all 4 sticks in... its hard to get any good OC out of it :(

AthlonXP1800
09-02-05, 02:54 AM
Yea I have that BIOS revision..

It seems that when I run just 2 of the sticks, the system runs and overclocks well.. when I throw all 4 sticks in... its hard to get any good OC out of it :(

Hmmm it likely CPU limited the OC with 4 DIMMs in dual channel, when you get a Athlon 64 X2 4400+, it should OC well with 4 DIMMs.

EvilEye
09-02-05, 04:04 PM
I'm sick and tired of my Corsair CL3 BS memory. They are completely limiting my OC.. I got 2GB's of these babies on the way :D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227206

DDR500 @ CL2? Yes please :D

Nice!!! :cool:

Me also wants a pair of these :p , too bad they are hard to come by here i Sweden. OCZ just disapeared from our market one day :confused: .

I at least I managed to push my Corsair to CL2.5 by dropping FSB 5 MHz ....But damn I want a pair of them OCZ DDR500 CL2 *luv*.

Superfly
09-02-05, 04:27 PM
Nice!!! :cool:

Me also wants a pair of these :p , too bad they are hard to come by here i Sweden. OCZ just disapeared from our market one day :confused: .
*luv*.

www.overclockers.co.uk

will ship anything worldwide, inc lovely Sweden :D

EvilEye
09-02-05, 04:38 PM
hehe thanks! :) I'l keep that in mind when next paycheck arrive :) .