PDA

View Full Version : Dungeon Siege II Poor Performance


Acroyear
08-30-05, 03:32 PM
Hello folks, new here but was wondering if anyone else was having lower than usual frame rate issues with Dungeon Siege II. My system is a Athlon 64 3200 with 1 GB ram and 6600 GT and have a hard time breaking 20 FPS in large fights. Quite a few complaints have been posted here:

Here (http://garage.gaspowered.com/?q=node/1211)

and

Here (http://garage.gaspowered.com/?q=node/747)

If you have had any success with drivers or tweaks please post, I have tried the 71.89 drivers and still poor performance. Vsync being off gives another 10 fps, but still performing not as it should. :retard:

Veger
08-30-05, 03:50 PM
Make sure to set a profile for the game and turn off Vsync, I believe Vsync is on by default.

JamesDax
08-30-05, 04:19 PM
Game runs great for me.

Acroyear
08-30-05, 05:00 PM
Seems many are also complaining, with much higher system specs than myself which raises the red flag.

Clay
08-30-05, 05:24 PM
My specs are considerably higher but for what it's worth the DSII demo ran great for me. Does the retail version have a 60fps cap like the demo? I was always at the cap regardless of resolution or game settings.

yakumo
08-30-05, 05:33 PM
i don't know, maybe it's just vsync and your monitor/lcd is running 60hz ?

Acroyear
08-30-05, 06:56 PM
Well it made the front page of Planet Dungeonsiege, and another thread here....

http://www.planetdungeonsiege.com/

Here (http://www.forumplanet.com/planetdungeonsiege/topic.asp?fid=11067&tid=1727362&p=1)

Ninjaman09
08-30-05, 07:13 PM
Acroyear you're not alone, mine dipped down pretty low during large fights also and look at my system. :p

That was the demo though.

PaiN
08-30-05, 07:54 PM
Ninja...I've a system like your's, with many hours into DSII, I can't say I've seen any performance hits.
I run it with V-sync ON, 1280x1024, 4xAA, 16xAF, FW 77.77

Acroyear
08-31-05, 08:35 PM
Ninja...I've a system like your's, with many hours into DSII, I can't say I've seen any performance hits.
I run it with V-sync ON, 1280x1024, 4xAA, 16xAF, FW 77.77


It seems isolated, but there wouldn't be front page news on a major site ;) and many threads on MANY forums with Nvidia performance and DSII.

JamesDax
09-01-05, 12:51 AM
I run the game at 1024x768 with shaders on high and 2xAA and 16xAF and the game runs smooth and looks great. Thats with FW 77.77. You can see my specs below.