PDA

View Full Version : NFSU 2 + Patch 1.2 + GF6800GT = Crash?


Try4Ce
09-02-05, 05:40 PM
Hi mates

I recently installed NFSU 2 for some serious car tuning.
So, with Version 1.0 (unpatched) there arent ANY problems, runs like a charm, but slow on a GF6800GT tho...
So, updated it to 1.1, no problems either, but still the performance is horrible...
"Ok" i said and fired up patch 1.2 ... Game boots, then in the Menu with the car in the background the game will run for at least 10 seconds and then almost FREEZES. I get around 1 frame in 8 seconds or something like that and when i try to move in the menus my pc is giving me a beeping noise, freaked me totally out! Then the game will hardlock.

Strange stuff, EVERY other game or app is running perfectly, no crashes, no graphic corruptions, so it just CAN'T be my hardware, the game runs fine unpatched too.
Whats the big deal? I thought patch 1.2 will improve the performance on a 6800GT card drastically?
Running the XG 77.77 HD drivers.

agentkay
09-02-05, 06:08 PM
Its a common bug, turn off "Depth of Field" and then it shouldn´t crash anymore. I personally left it enabled on my 6800nu and 77.77 driver ( also patched to 1.2) and never experienced a crash but then again I never saw the "Depth of Field" effect anyway.

SH64
09-02-05, 07:22 PM
Yes you would get crashes with patch 1.2 .. your best option is to revert back to 1.1 or 1.0

Viventis
09-03-05, 12:10 PM
Easy and Sure Fix!!!!!

The problem lies in the "Profile" that exists in the latest Nvidia Drivers. Get a utility called NHancer. Delete the NFSU2 profile and you are good to go! You must do this every time you upgrade drivers because a new profile is added with each driver installation.

I don't know why Nvidia doesn't figure this out with each new release?

$n][pErMan
09-03-05, 02:54 PM
1.2 worked great for me when I played the game.... made it so smooth at 1280x1024 when before with 1.0 and 1.1 it would seem slow.

JoKeRr
09-03-05, 06:05 PM
thanks guys, i was having the same problem, and no it's fiXED!!!

Try4Ce
09-04-05, 12:22 PM
Yeah thx a bunch guys, the profile-thingy fixed it for me. Hell, this game runs totally smooth with patch 1.2 and a GF6800GT, playin @ 1280x960, 0xAA, 8xAF and everything else maXXXed.
It's alot more fun now :D

JoKeRr
09-04-05, 07:23 PM
how do I set AF now since I deleted the profile??

Viventis
09-06-05, 08:52 PM
how do I set AF now since I deleted the profile??

Just use NHancer to create a new profile.