PDA

View Full Version : New Mobo.


CHEVYMAN_02
09-04-05, 12:02 PM
I just upgraded my computer and i have everything plug just as it is supposed to be but the thing is it won't power on. What could the problem be?


ECS Nforce4 754
Chaintech 6600GT PCIE
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Hyper X 512 DDR PC3200
Windows XP Pro SuperPower Case w/600W PSU and Window
Seagate 200GB

marqmajere
09-04-05, 12:37 PM
Make sure that little connector for the power button is hooked up the right way on you mobo. Sometimes I have it backwards and it wont power on.

jAkUp
09-04-05, 12:39 PM
Yup, also make sure the mobo is not grounded in any way.

CHEVYMAN_02
09-04-05, 01:56 PM
does grounded the mobo kill it? :thumbdwn:

Roadhog
09-04-05, 01:59 PM
it can.

CHEVYMAN_02
09-04-05, 02:21 PM
Dang i hope i didn't kill mine. That would be a bunch of crap.

Rytr
09-04-05, 02:47 PM
I am always changing motherboards. I killed a brand new Gigabyte mobo by leaving an extra brass mount on the case for mounting the motherboard. It did not die at first but by the time I figured out what I had done and removed the extra mount and re-installed the motherboard it was unresponsive.... :o

superklye
09-04-05, 03:16 PM
Yeah, I did that once too. :o

CHEVYMAN_02
09-05-05, 12:16 PM
well. I did ground it out and killed it so i am going to RMA

anzak
09-05-05, 12:53 PM
well. I did ground it out and killed it so i am going to RMA

Are you sure? I have the exact same mobo and I had the exact same problem. It turns out I mounted the heatsink backwards. (omg) After mounting it correctly everything works great.

Its not a bad mobo for the price. I was trying to decide between this or a DFI mobo. Since the DFI was $20 more and this one had 13 positive reviews I went with ECS. Its got all the options my VNF3-250 had, but the fsb only does 240mhz.

CHEVYMAN_02
09-06-05, 10:22 AM
i tried to reseat the fan and still nothing happened after all that so i think i didn't kill the MOBO so i am going go ahead RMA