PDA

View Full Version : Question about what ram to use


vaxick
09-05-05, 10:41 PM
Ok, I'm going to upgrade very soon and I'm not sure what ram to get for the new system. I'm thinking about going with a AMD 64 X2 3800 or 4000, DFI NF4 SLI Mobo, and a most likely the 7800GTX. 2 gigs of ram seems to be the new standard, but I'm just not too sure how to go about doing it. I know AMD mobo's have had issues in the past with having more than 2 sticks of ram on the mobo and I have no idea if that still holds true with the NF4 mobo's. The reason I ask this is because if I bought 2 sticks of 1 gig ram the timings would be slower than what I could get on say a 512 stick of ram. Though I'm sure it's not really as much of a issue since these mobo's support dual channel.

Any recommendations on what ram to get and links where to get it would be nice, but just no links to NewEgg please. I choose not to deal with them due to issues in the past.

saturnotaku
09-06-05, 06:03 AM
I know AMD mobo's have had issues in the past with having more than 2 sticks of ram on the mobo and I have no idea if that still holds true with the NF4 mobo's.

This is generally the case. The fact that you often have to run the system at PC2700 speeds at a 2T command rate to get it stable are major factors as to why most folks don't run with 4 sticks of memory.

There are some good quality, low latency 1 GB sticks of memory. They are expensive, though. Going for a 2x1 GB configuration will be much better for overall performance than 4x or 2x512 MB. There was a post somewhere here I read that said even 1.5 GB in single channel mode offered better performance in RAM hungry games tha 2x512 in dual channel.

vaxick
09-06-05, 05:03 PM
This is generally the case. The fact that you often have to run the system at PC2700 speeds at a 2T command rate to get it stable are major factors as to why most folks don't run with 4 sticks of memory.

There are some good quality, low latency 1 GB sticks of memory. They are expensive, though. Going for a 2x1 GB configuration will be much better for overall performance than 4x or 2x512 MB. There was a post somewhere here I read that said even 1.5 GB in single channel mode offered better performance in RAM hungry games tha 2x512 in dual channel.

Thanks for the details :) I found this deal (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=83433-3) on ZipZoomFly. Seems to be just about the same latency as the OCZ ram except half the price. Mushkin has always seemed to be a good company.

wnd
09-06-05, 05:10 PM
found this deal (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=83433-3) on ZipZoomFly.

I just wish they would ship outside (North) America... In Finland, one can barely have half of that for USD 289 -- I was wondering if I should invest USD 360 in 2 GB of CAS 3. Sad.

vaxick
09-07-05, 01:35 AM
I just wish they would ship outside (North) America... In Finland, one can barely have half of that for USD 289 -- I was wondering if I should invest USD 360 in 2 GB of CAS 3. Sad.

Ouch, that really stinks ZipZoomFly won't ship outside of the US.

Ninjaman09
09-07-05, 10:46 AM
Thanks for the details :) I found this deal (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=83433-3) on ZipZoomFly. Seems to be just about the same latency as the OCZ ram except half the price. Mushkin has always seemed to be a good company.
Half price? I got my OCZ sticks off newegg for like $260 bucks (think it was on sale when I bought it). And yeah they're the 2-3-2 ones.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227210

wnd
09-07-05, 01:45 PM
After complaining how expensive memory is around here where I live, I re-discovered eBay -- even figured that I can search for sellers shipping worldwide. Yes, I'm very proud of myself. Soon enough I found what I was looking for, and for quite reasonable price. And from seller that doesn't look suspicious.

After reading the product description (http://tinyurl.com/bf93w) again and again my I-thing-it's-too-good-to-be-true mode kicked in. I started thinking of reasons why this memory module woudn't work. I took a good look at chip configuration and motherboard manual and came into conclustion that I cannot make any conclusions with the limited knowledge I posses. Which finally leads to my question. :-)

Manual of Asus A8N-E says "DIMM modules with 128 Mb chips or double-sided x16 memory chips are not supported". Does this mean memory modules with 16 chips (+ controller) or 16 chips per side won't work? Memory modules I was looking at are described to have "64Mx8 DRAMs" (or "Each 1GB Module 128x64 (Made With 64x8 Low-Density Dram)"). Any chance this memory would work with my motherboard? I would be more than glad if someone could shed some light here.

Seller promises "Guaranteed to work in all DDR systems" and 30-day money back guarantee, but naturally I would like to get the stuff what I want as soon as possible, without having to send it back and change for something else.

saturnotaku
09-07-05, 01:54 PM
Just FYI, you can post links to eBay here if you are looking for opinions, but you cannot post anything to any items you are selling in the For Sale/Trade forum. :)

LBJM
09-07-05, 04:15 PM
2x1GB pc3200 see sig

Mr_LoL
09-07-05, 06:06 PM
I just wish they would ship outside (North) America... In Finland, one can barely have half of that for USD 289 -- I was wondering if I should invest USD 360 in 2 GB of CAS 3. Sad.

I am searching for 2 gigs of ram (because FEAR and battlefield 2 recommends it) with a latency of a least 2.5 thats affordable. The best i can come up with is this.
http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/product.php?productid=18710