PDA

View Full Version : Age of Empire 3 demo feedback thread


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

AthlonXP1800
09-06-05, 11:04 AM
Found this (http://aoe3.heavengames.com/cgi-bin/forums/display.cgi?action=st&fn=1&tn=23358&f=,,,&st=30#post34) from Age of Empire 3 forum that the demo is coming this month, the demo will be about 375Mb size. X800 series owners will be left in the cold not supported SM3.0 but it will support R5xx, NV4x and G7x series cards.

Mr. Hunt
09-06-05, 11:06 AM
Awesome... hopefully it isn't late September ;).

Ninjaman09
09-06-05, 11:13 AM
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!

I can't wait! :jumping:

PeterJensen
09-06-05, 11:29 AM
a last a card to push my 7800GTX just a little :)

aAv7
09-06-05, 11:34 AM
this game is going to run like pooh on n40's....so be prepared. I read an interview with the developers 8 months ago and they said they were making the game with next gen cards in mind.

|MaguS|
09-06-05, 11:37 AM
Ran great on the 6800 (don't know if it was an Ultra) at E3.

superklye
09-06-05, 12:38 PM
I can't wait! This game looks awesome and will hopefully breathe some life into the currently stale RTS genre.

SH64
09-06-05, 12:41 PM
Sweet but The golden question is what day ??

& a little something to drool on until the demo comes out :

http://img302.imageshack.us/img302/2575/hdrfull7cz.jpg

S.I.N
09-06-05, 01:08 PM
I think it looks better and more detailed without that HDR lighting. :o

SH64
09-06-05, 01:12 PM
I think it looks better and more detailed without that HDR lighting. :o

You want the truth ? i believe the same :o .. but still it might look much better in motion just like FarCry did if you recall.

jolle
09-06-05, 01:22 PM
looks like they are using it all wrong.
they are LOOSING the detail in the bright clouds, and they are brightening the shadowed part of the building where the detail is already visible as it is..

I spose for the best implementation you want really dark areas, where you wouldnt se squat without HDR, and really bright areas (outdoors fex), where your screen would be almost white without HDR..
but then the game would require HDR to be playable.

aAv7
09-06-05, 01:30 PM
I think it looks better and more detailed without that HDR lighting. :o


I agree, totally. Looks alot blurrier and blah with hdr. If thats the kind of difference we'll see in motion, i'll be leaving hdr off

RealLifePixelShader
09-06-05, 02:44 PM
One Time !!!!!!!!!!

Spliffstarr
09-06-05, 03:02 PM
I so can't wait to play this game..... :zombie3: :skeleton2 :zombie3:

muaddib
09-06-05, 04:00 PM
Me too !!! Can't Wait!!!!!

Ninjaman09
09-06-05, 04:04 PM
Geez it looks WAY better without HDR.

Mr_LoL
09-06-05, 04:45 PM
I think I might play with hdr off. I never liked hdr in far cry so i never had it on. It makes everything look kinda artifical.

NaitoSan
09-06-05, 05:59 PM
I wonder you could edit .ini or whatever with HDR until it looks right...

Neitherless, AoE 3 looks impressive- I can't wait.

agentkay
09-06-05, 07:05 PM
Found a site with a few pictures of AOE3, maybe incl. new ones?

http://www.justgamers.de/?page=gallery&gallery_id=861#default

muaddib
09-07-05, 07:00 AM
Some pics over there looks like crap, exactly like Empire Earth 1/2 (Trust me, it's very hard for me to say this as I'm a die-hard fan of AoE3), but I don't think that our 6800GT's/U's will have any problem to deal with this game even at its full glory.

russ_3d
09-07-05, 07:17 AM
does anyone know how destructable the buildings are?

teepees have cannonball holes? brick buildings have individual bricks? im sure i read somewhere this was the case, but havent seen this confirmed in the vids - in the trailer i can only see the ships/shops breaking up into pieces (about 5-10) not anything as prescise as toppling a tower by taking out a 'leg' or one side of a building to taste.

:confused:

|MaguS|
09-07-05, 07:19 AM
Yeah.... no, If they do have that then its scripted and not real time since well that would be hell of alot of processing to do in realtime.

russ_3d
09-07-05, 07:30 AM
it cant be scripted surely..

edit* i thought they were promoting this as their 'big thing' ? i.e the physics?

jolle
09-07-05, 09:34 AM
Judging from the E3 videos buildings are destroyed into loose objects, but its not as detailed as down to brick by brick, but they do fall apart and do so as a realtime physics simulation, same with trees and soldiers use ragdoll.
Was alot of cannon blasting in the videos..

|MaguS|
09-07-05, 09:54 AM
The pieces are affected by physics but the actual destruction of the buildings and objects are not. If a building is hit at the top of it, the roof wont get destroyed but once the building takes enough damage it will fall apart according to physics. Same with soldiers, when hit they will go flying realistically and tree's will fall over in the manner that they should but they wont get the top or split in half.