PDA

View Full Version : NF4 questions

Ice Nine
09-06-05, 02:41 PM
I'm a long-time Intel user (both CPU and chipset), though I have a LOT of experience with Athlons and A64's. My last foray into the NForce chipset was back in the NF3 days, which was absolutely abysmal.

Now, I'm NOT an overclocker. I keep everything stock, but at the same time I always buy quality ram (Corsair, OCZ, etc) that runs at SPD, run beefy Power Supplies (PCP&C, etc) and after 20 years of building these things, I certainly know how to avoid common build mistakes.

During my NF3 days, I ran into a lot of nagging issues with my 6800U card at the time. For one, I had to match clock speeds for 2D and 3D in the card's drivers (or use a bios hack to code it in). If I didn't, I was met with stuttering and random lockups with the 6800U. However, on the Intel side, everything ran fine on the 875P chipset regardless of what the 2D/3D clock speeds were set to... it always worked.

I also had some issues with NVRAID. I'm a big fan of WD Raptors and love the balls-to-the-walls throughput (I work with a ton of big files). But I found that certain ports on the NF3 boards worked better than others...

I eventually ditched AMD because I'm a huge multitasker and losing Hyperthreading caused a lot of lost productivity for me. Obviously that's not a huge deal now, but with the prices of Dual Core AMD cpu's being what they are, i'm going to stick with my Intel 650 for the time being. Now, i'm going to be driving a pair of 7800GTX cards since I like keeping my 2405FPW at its native res. That means I have to go NF4, at least until the 975X comes out. The only thing that concerns me are the nagging issues that plagued the NF3 chipset with regards to compatibility.