PDA

View Full Version : Am I the only one who can't overclock a watercooled 7800 GTX more than 499 cpu?


xtatdsm
09-07-05, 01:47 PM
the max I could get out of my card (around 30c temp at idle and 34C max load) is 499 which seems to be very very stable in benches, but once I hit the 500 mark, I get the coolbite test failed message. by the way when I say 499 I am including the 40+. so benchmarks show 530 or more when I have it set to 490+ using coolbite. I tried 3 diffrent drivers and still can't get anymore than 499. I also turned the AC on and frooze my a$$ and still could not hit the 500 mark.

the reason I am asking is because I see a lot of people posting 500+ clocks in their sig (enven on air), so either my card is not a good clocker, or they are adding the 40 points to their coolbite clocks.


anyhelp would be appreciated.

bigjohns97
09-07-05, 02:16 PM
you need voltage

J-Mag
09-07-05, 02:18 PM
have you tried disabling the coolbits test and then setting at 500mhz to run a bench?

Roliath
09-07-05, 02:44 PM
Thats odd, try using Rivatuner and force 500 on the core, and run benches to see if its stable.
Hell my BFG hit 500 straight out of the box, not including the 40 geo clock thingy.

Also what are your memory clocks (forgive me if you posted them above), try lowering the mem IF its overclocked that might give you the 500+ your looking for. and what brand card is it?

xtatdsm
09-07-05, 02:45 PM
how do i do that? I would love to try that.

Roliath
09-07-05, 02:46 PM
Download Rivatuner, Guru3d.com has it use its overclocking feature.

EDIT: here's the link
Click Here (http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163)

100fuegos
09-07-05, 05:10 PM
PoV 7800GTX here, it hits a wall at 499 Mhz core clock. Oh well canīt complaint as it does 1400 Mhz on memory too. Haven't even bothered disabling the internal clock test in Rivatuner, by the way yo gotta go into the Power User Tab\NVIDIA\Overclocking and find there the DisableInternalClockTest thingy and put a 1 on there.

Let us know how it goes

hoop
09-07-05, 05:43 PM
by the way yo gotta go into the Power User Tab\NVIDIA\Overclocking and find there the DisableInternalClockTest thingy and put a 1 on there.

Can i see a screen shot of that please..

100fuegos
09-07-05, 06:05 PM
Sure, here you have. Doing the one at your right is enough.

kwynjunk
09-07-05, 07:30 PM
Why bother? Can cpu's keep up with with the 7800gtx anyways?

BTW, this is me really asking the question. I'm not saying that that is the case. I was just under the impression that cpus were too slow to keep up the the card anywaus

xtatdsm
09-07-05, 07:35 PM
well, I won't say my CPU is too slow (3.6 at 330x14 = 4.6) benching that is. I have seen a couple of bioses out there that ups the voltage to 1.5, but some people say that even upping the voltage to 1.5 in the bios does not help much (the actual voltage does not change) unless I vmod the card which I really don't want to, or at least for now.

Roliath
09-07-05, 11:07 PM
well, I won't say my CPU is too slow (3.6 at 330x14 = 4.6) benching that is. I have seen a couple of bioses out there that ups the voltage to 1.5, but some people say that even upping the voltage to 1.5 in the bios does not help much (the actual voltage does not change) unless I vmod the card which I really don't want to, or at least for now.
As far as I know, there is NO way to up the voltage through the BIOS. You have to hardmod it, and the results are very surprising.
I've seen some hit 600+ on the Core and 1500+ on the mem over on xtremesystems

joshua7
09-08-05, 05:11 AM
As far as I know, there is NO way to up the voltage through the BIOS. You have to hardmod it, and the results are very surprising.
I've seen some hit 600+ on the Core and 1500+ on the mem over on xtremesystems

Really? Do you have a link for that? Thanks.

Roliath
09-08-05, 06:22 PM
Let me find the link real quick.

Here is the thread (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67494) This is the one with ViperJohn and Malves [xtremesystems]

And here is another thread (http://www.xtremeresources.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37362&page=1&pp=15) This is the one with 2fast4u and FROG [xtremeresources]

-=DVS=-
09-08-05, 08:31 PM
Mines does up to 522 , but since 7800Gtx overclocks in steps from internal dividers i keep it at 500 no point as next step is 527 i think , anyways 56'C with my watercooling.
Test from Control Panel passes.

Roliath
09-09-05, 01:33 AM
if you don't mind -=DVS=- will you tell me what watercooling block your using on your GPU?

-=DVS=-
09-09-05, 02:02 AM
I got Zalman RESERATOR 1 Plus , cooling my OC Athlon X2 and 7800Gtx , original blocks that came with it , im experimenting a bit with it , have replaced stock pump and added extra radiator with slow 120mm fan, works ok not a hardcore water cooling rig. But keeps my CPU @~50'C while running two prime stress test, and or 50-55'C on GPU after several hours of gameing. With stock air cooling id get over 65'C on CPU and over 80'C on GPU doing same test's.

http://img387.imageshack.us/img387/6179/zm9ej.jpg

Elfear
09-09-05, 03:37 PM
Mine does 520/1350 on H2O with no artifacts. When I tried ocing with Coolbits, I failed at anything above 490MHz.

Powerstrip is a good utility too since it doesn't have an internal test like Coolbits or Rivatuner (although it can be disabled apparentely). I use Powerstrip along with ATI Tool and slowly increase my core/mem frequency until I see artifacts. Been working pretty well so far.

acrh2
09-09-05, 04:29 PM
well, I won't say my CPU is too slow (3.6 at 330x14 = 4.6) benching that is. I have seen a couple of bioses out there that ups the voltage to 1.5, but some people say that even upping the voltage to 1.5 in the bios does not help much (the actual voltage does not change) unless I vmod the card which I really don't want to, or at least for now.

4.6 prescott? Nice. Does it keep you warm on those cold and lonely nights? :)

By the way, what does your system get in SuperPi 1M at 24/7 in benching configurations? My 3.4E@3.8 (air) used to do 35s, this A64@2.8 (air) does 30s.

xtatdsm
09-09-05, 04:39 PM
I get 27 seconds in superpi with my 24/7 setup, and my best superpi is 26 seconds. I am getting some new memory tho (5400UL) in the mail, so I guess my superpi will be a bit better with the new memory.

by the way, my temps for CPU are 37 idle and 44 load (with the fans at 7 volts) and my GPU temps are 32C idle and 35 load.

joshua7
09-10-05, 11:35 AM
Let me find the link real quick.

Here is the thread (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67494) This is the one with ViperJohn and Malves [xtremesystems]

And here is another thread (http://www.xtremeresources.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37362&page=1&pp=15) This is the one with 2fast4u and FROG [xtremeresources]

Thanks!

|MaguS|
09-10-05, 11:41 AM
Im at 500 on stock, tested it with FEAR, CS:S and rthdribl. Core jumps to 513 in 3D Apps.