PDA

View Full Version : A64 up and running - but with questions...!


Superfly
09-09-05, 04:32 AM
Hey guys,

Finally got the system is my sig up and running last night - new ASUS board was faultless from the word go - perfect. Not a single BSOD, error or anything during the whole setup process.

anyways - I have a A64 clock frequency type of question for you:

My bios auto sets my mem to DDR333 - hav'nt tried it with only 2 sticks in. This is easily sorted by manually setting the mem frequency in the bios - however I have the following options and they seem unclear to me:

1/1 (DDR200)
2/1 (DDR400)

there are more but i dont see the need to list them all..

??? should'nt the DDR400 be on a 1/1 ratio?? - certainly CPU-Z says im on a 1/1 ratio @ DDR400??

My CPU is setup as follows:

HT = 1000Mb's (fastest setting in bios)
FSB frequency = 200Mhz
CPU Clock = 2200Mhz
Multiplier = 11
memory is @ 2T for obvious reasons.

To clarify - in the bios I have to manually select DDR400 and it says im on a 2/1 ratio CPU/MEM - is this right ie: is this how the A64 CPU/FBS/DDR thang works??

Thanks. all.

Superfly
09-09-05, 05:42 AM
go on - give us a clue! :D

Superfly
09-09-05, 08:52 AM
Please........?

throw me a frickin bone here someone.... :D

Dr.Nick
09-09-05, 10:44 AM
What is the ram frequency in cpu-z? I think 2:1 is what you want for DDR400 speeds

Superfly
09-09-05, 10:57 AM
in CPU-z its :

FSB 200Mhz
RAM 200Mhz @ 1/1 ratio.

timings are 2-2-2-5 @ 2T

I think its maybe just an oddity with the ASUS board/bios im using.

Riptide
09-09-05, 11:14 AM
If CPU-z says it's fine then it probably is. You know how it is... Things aren't all that well standardized and sometimes different motherboards have the same switch in the BIOS labeled differently. Confusing. You have it right though, apparently.

BTW I've heard this complaint about the BIOS on the A8V before. It's not a huge issue but definitely a minor annoyance that it's not real clear on this point.

Superfly
09-09-05, 11:21 AM
thanks dude - i think your right.

benchies are fine - I think although I have no idea what to compare too.

Nutty
09-09-05, 12:39 PM
Well try the other way, and see if your benches go up or down? :)

Zerocool
09-09-05, 01:01 PM
Ya thats how the multi. is set up for me too. 2:1 is DDR400, however the very middle divider is DDR333 for me and others (not the DDR333 one?) I understand this will be resolved in the next BIOS.(Im using 1014)

Superfly
09-09-05, 01:55 PM
Ya thats how the multi. is set up for me too. 2:1 is DDR400, however the very middle divider is DDR333 for me and others (not the DDR333 one?) I understand this will be resolved in the next BIOS.(Im using 1014)

thanks mate - thats good to hear.

Good news on the next bios update too!! - hope that really happens.

rohit
09-09-05, 04:23 PM
Since i was an intel user before my current rig,
i have 2 questions:
1]How do i check wheather my mem runs on 1T timing or 2T. (intel had 1T by default afaik)
2] Does 2T timings really hamper performance (i read an entire thread on 1T vs 2T on s939 a64 @ anadtech, where earlier i was convinced 2T doesnt hamper perfrmance, but later..i couldnt descide).

Zerocool
09-09-05, 04:42 PM
You disable the 2T Command at the very bottom of the Memory page in the BIOS. To check it d/l EverestHome(free)
http://www.lavalys.hu/index.php

Superfly
09-09-05, 04:43 PM
Since i was an intel user before my current rig,
i have 2 questions:
1]How do i check wheather my mem runs on 1T timing or 2T. (intel had 1T by default afaik) - its under memory config in the AV8 bios
2] Does 2T timings really hamper performance (i read an entire thread on 1T vs 2T on s939 a64 @ anadtech, where earlier i was convinced 2T doesnt hamper perfrmance, but later..i couldnt descide). - nope - only sandra scores and the odd fps.

Superfly
09-09-05, 04:46 PM
WOW - now I can play FarCry @ 1280x1024 instead of 1024x768 and still be more than 10fps faster than my P4 :-)

rohit
09-09-05, 05:07 PM
Thanx.
WOW - now I can play FarCry @ 1280x1024 instead of 1024x768 and still be more than 10fps faster than my P4 :-)
LOL, i know how it feels, i felt the same when changed from p4 to this :)

nIghtorius
09-10-05, 03:58 AM
Yes.. great feeling it is.. :D

the most fun part of it is.. that the A8V mainboard has passive northbridge cooling.. a A8N-SLI is a great board.. only that freak'n high-pitched NB fan..

Superfly.. your config is almost the same as mine.. except for the memory. (got 2GB crucial memory @ DDR333 :( (got a NewCastle 3500+) )

Superfly
09-10-05, 11:54 AM
^^ Then you need a newer CPU core :-)

TBH though im still rather pissed they hav'nt fixed the 2T problem yet - I mean FFS 4xmodules @ 1T has been possible on an Intel rig since I can remember.

Lets all hope they sort it out next year heh.

I want on chip DDR2 mem controller with 4xmodules @ 1T - then I'll be a happy bunny.