PDA

View Full Version : Maxtor plus 10 HD very very slow.. ?


Shocky
09-09-05, 01:26 PM
Hi, I just bought a maxtor plus 10 250GB 16MB cache SATA drive and its painfully slow. Took 20Min for it detect devices on windows install and a good 40min to install completly... takes forever to startup... motherboard drivers are installed now and its still slow. Using Asus A8N Sli Premium and latest drivers.

Any ideas whats wrong with it?

Nutty
09-09-05, 02:17 PM
Either its not connected properly, or its knackered. Double check the connections, check the BIOS is detecting it properly as well. It should come up within a couple seconds from posting.

If all else fails RMA it.

I have the exact same drive, I just bought it recently and am very happy with it. Not as quiet as my samsung drive tho, but seems considerably faster.

Shocky
09-09-05, 03:07 PM
Well I tried a second one and it seems to work fine so first one is faulty. :mad: Do Maxtor deal with replacements directly or do I have to go though supplier... Should be fun getting a return from OCUK if I have to return though them. :p

TierMann
09-09-05, 03:28 PM
If it's OEM, you should have a 3 year warranty from Maxtor.
If it's a retail package, then you can RMA it to Maxtor directly for 1 year (2 years if you live in Europe, Middle East, or Africa).

That's the way I understand it anyway from Maxtor's site.
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Maxtor/menuitem.a14629af82eff9461400585760b46068/?epi_menuItemID=a14629af82eff9461400585760b46068&epi_menuID=976d37cd478c5826433f226075b46068&epi_baseMenuID=976d37cd478c5826433f226075b46068&channelpath=/en_us/Support/Warranty%20Services/Warranty%20Periods#retail_products_warranty

Shocky
09-09-05, 05:10 PM
If it's OEM, you should have a 3 year warranty from Maxtor.
If it's a retail package, then you can RMA it to Maxtor directly for 1 year (2 years if you live in Europe, Middle East, or Africa).

That's the way I understand it anyway from Maxtor's site.
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Maxtor/menuitem.a14629af82eff9461400585760b46068/?epi_menuItemID=a14629af82eff9461400585760b46068&epi_menuID=976d37cd478c5826433f226075b46068&epi_baseMenuID=976d37cd478c5826433f226075b46068&channelpath=/en_us/Support/Warranty%20Services/Warranty%20Periods#retail_products_warranty

Thx, after removing the first drive the second one is giving me problems now but slightly different. I'm starting to think one of the the sata controllers is also dodgy. Sigh.... I hate when stuff works and then doesnt work for what appears to be no reason at all... pain in the ass....

Dr.Nick
09-09-05, 05:57 PM
Remove the nvidia IDE drivers. I had the same type of problem with extremely long boots but it was after I installed windows and the IDE driver

Shocky
09-10-05, 05:15 AM
Remove the nvidia IDE drivers. I had the same type of problem with extremely long boots but it was after I installed windows and the IDE driver

Its a little more then just long boots, the first drive pauses intermitantly and then fails, the second driver just fails to boot up, blue screens or I get boot failure message... There my first sata drivers also, this will probably put me off them for a long while. :mad:

Drumphil
09-10-05, 06:56 AM
sata aint the problem.. I say you just got a dud, or there is something else wrong with your motherboard or software setup.

Shocky
09-10-05, 09:11 AM
Well back with my trusty PATA drives which work flawlessly and are only slightly slower in real world appz anyway. I'll try and get a refund although I doubt they will allow that.. Otherwise, ill get them replaced and sell the replacements over ebay...

Wasted a whole day messing round with them drives, never again.

Absolution
09-10-05, 01:56 PM
i also had a problem with nforce ide/sata drivers (very logn boot time, like 2-5 minutes)

uninstalling them worked

its funny though, i didnt have the problem on my msi neo2 platinum ( nforce3 ulta )

Dr.Nick
09-12-05, 12:11 AM
i also had a problem with nforce ide/sata drivers (very logn boot time, like 2-5 minutes)

uninstalling them worked

its funny though, i didnt have the problem on my msi neo2 platinum ( nforce3 ulta )


Yea, its suxs because the drivers do make a nice speed difference. Also I dont think NCQ is enabled without them:( But I didnt have this problem with them when I was running just the WD 160GB drive so its either the large size or NCQ that is causing the problem:(