PDA

View Full Version : Game Jackal anyone?


Viventis
09-12-05, 01:26 PM
Anybody else using Game Jackal to play games without the CD? I am using the demo with a handful of games and it seems to be working well enough (BF2, NFSU2, Doom3, Tiger Woods 2004). It creates a "profile" that is not a virtual drive and does not change any of the game files so it is supposed to completely legal. Supposedly Punk Buster friendly and no blacklisting. BF2 is the only online game I am using with it now and I have had no troubles for a week or so. Before I plunk down my money to register this, I was wondering if anyone else can offer feedback. They have their own forum but that is probably "preaching to the choir."

saturnotaku
09-12-05, 01:47 PM
Interesting, may just have to give this a shot.

Viventis
09-12-05, 02:02 PM
I had actually meant this to go in the "Game" section but I guess we are all gamers here. Oddly, the game I installed it for is the only one that hasn't worked so far. Rayman Arena requires both CD's to be inserted one after the other to be played and this stumped Game Jackal. I submitted an inquiry in the forums and at least I got a "regrets" reply.

saturnotaku
09-12-05, 02:08 PM
I'm if they have a database of games, sorted by copy protection and if the program works or not. It can probably beat Safedisc, but how about SecuROM and StarForce?

OWA
09-12-05, 02:21 PM
Interesting, think I'll give it a shot.


http://www.cdfreaks.com/article/187
GameJackal has been designed to do away with the need for both disks and virtual drives in order to play your disks. It creates a small profile of the game that you want to play and then uses that to launch the game without the CD being in the drive.

Version 1 of this program gained a lot of admirers but it was limited in as much as that it couldn’t do the latest copy protections that were available at the time. However the team have been hard at work and have now launched version 2. This has been designed to work with the latest SecuROM and SafeDisc versions as well as many of the other used protections.

Edit: Doesn't support starforce though so that's a downer. Oh well.

Acid Rain
09-14-05, 01:43 AM
Edit: Doesn't support starforce though so that's a downer. Oh well.Hopefully they'll be able to get that supported as well. I'd love to have a one stop shop for all my no cd/dvd needs.

Viventis
10-02-05, 11:57 AM
Sometimes you get lucky.

My 30 day trial period was about to expire. I decided to buy the product. Luckily, the company was/is running a $9.95 registration special (regularly $29.95) in honor of their 100,000 downloads. I bought 3 licenses so the kids' computers can run it too. So far I'm using it for BF2, NFSU2, Halo, GTA Vice City, and Tiger Woods 2004.

j0j081
10-02-05, 09:18 PM
does this use a lot of resources or anything else i should know about before trying it? also, why did you buy 3 licenses? it wouldn't let you use the same license on more than one computer?

CaptNKILL
10-02-05, 10:16 PM
I tried it and I didnt like it at all... it might be alright, but it seems like way too much hassle to me. Downloading a NO-CD crack or just leaving the disk in the drive seems like a lot less trouble.

And the program gave me blue screens... heh ;)

|MaguS|
10-02-05, 10:42 PM
It's a decent tool, I tried it with COD and it worked fine but over all its pretty useless unless you have it running at startup all the time (which eats resources even when you aren't using it). I find it alot easier just to use the CD insted of having to run an application prior to playing.

Now if it created the profile and then you never had to run the main application again, then I would find it good but having to run the program before playing the game just doesn't justify it for me.

I have all my current installed game cds in a stack by my tower...

j0j081
10-02-05, 10:58 PM
yeah f**k it then. figured it was a waste.

Veger
10-03-05, 06:45 AM
I used it over the weekend works great for me - I bought it, definetly worth $9.95.

It hardly uses any resources like 1% - 2% if at all. No-CD Cracks imo are dangerous plus you have to backup exe files with this you update a game and not have to worry about waiting for a new no-cd crack. The only negative I could find is that it does not like Starforce protected games, which is a problem in it self anyway.

Kind of confused with your comments?

Viventis
10-03-05, 12:21 PM
does this use a lot of resources or anything else i should know about before trying it? also, why did you buy 3 licenses? it wouldn't let you use the same license on more than one computer?

This program is very good at resource management. I have it autostart when Windows loads. It periodically checks for updates when it loads. All of these options are user selectable.

I can't tell you whether it would be physically possible to use the same license on more than one computer but you do have to internet authenticate the license file they email to you. I purchased three licenses because I am an attorney who has represented companies sued for software piracy and it is no fun. I emailed the company beforehand and they said I need one license per computer. Most licenses say one computer only or, if multiple computers are permissable, it must be impossible to have more than one copy going on at the same time.

It is not uncommon for four computers to be on at once at my house (one runs Win ME which is not supported by game Jackal). This is great for the kids because they can run all of their games from one menu (you can even run no-profile games from the menu) and I don't have to worry about scratched or dirty discs any more. (have you ever tried cleaning a disc with peanutbutter on it?)

OWA
10-04-05, 09:00 PM
Do you or your kids happen to play Madden 06 or NBA Live 06? If so, does it work with them? I went against my own policy and bought them knowing there wasn't a no-cd patch available yet. It's driving me crazy.

Edit: Excellent, downloaded the trial and it does work with NBA Live 06 and Madden 06 so I'll definitely be purchasing the utility. The only issue I have with Madden is that I need to figure out how to incorporate the "runfirst" command in the profile. This is needed to make the game run properly with the X2 cpu.

Edit 2: Dang, definitely doesn't work with starforce though. Oh well, that leaves only GTR and SCCT to annoy me.

Rakeesh
10-05-05, 02:04 AM
I don't use no-cd cracks nor leave the cd in. I use clonecd to rip it and then daemon tools to mount it. So long as you rip the original CD and not a burned copy, it can even defeat starforce protection if you do a few tricks (though fortunately I don't own any starforce games, so it has never been necessary.)