PDA

View Full Version : Project SS V2.0


Pages : [1] 2

six_storm
09-14-05, 12:01 AM
Well ladies and gents, my little project has officially started.

http://pssv2.blogspot.com/

Project six_storm Version 2.0 (:D) is finally underway!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pics and other such things soon to come . . .

six_storm
09-15-05, 11:29 AM
Well, I just ordered my EVGA 7800GT!!!! NewEgg has been kinda slow with my last order (Ordered 9/13 and Estimated to Be Here on 9/19?) so I decided to order this one a little earlier. BTW . . .

Total Spending (Thus Far): $1026.30

YIKES!!!!! I'm BROKE! :(

six_storm
09-16-05, 01:32 AM
Since I am a retard, I forgot my name and password to my blog so I had to make another one . . .

http://projectssv2.blogspot.com/

I just added some info on my package tracking and added a few pics. Later guys.

six_storm
09-19-05, 03:54 PM
Just a small update . . .

I got my 7800GT and I'm in the process of installing XP Pro and all the fun updates!!

Riptide
09-19-05, 03:59 PM
Sweet. BTW, we need some pictures in this thread. ;)

six_storm
09-20-05, 12:54 AM
Ok, since someone finally replyed and requested some stuff, you shall recieve!!!

http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/febox.jpg
http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/7800box.jpg
http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/everything.jpg
http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/running.jpg

Just some other pics from my blog . . .

http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/oczmemory.jpg
http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/asusmobo.jpg
http://www.photodump.com/direct/six_storm/cpuandbf.jpg

It's 1:00 AM and I'm running a crap load of updates just to play a few games lol. Maybe I'll run some benchies tomorrow. Later.

marqmajere
09-20-05, 01:01 AM
I love threads like this. Keep us updated.

Riptide
09-20-05, 01:19 AM
To bad you didn't have it running yet. I had a fun night playing CS:S on [H]'s servers. :)

six_storm
09-20-05, 02:19 AM
I've got it up and running but I've just been running into stupid problems. First off, I thought I was screwed with the whole 20-24 pin power connector deal. Now, my video card is running as slow as possible due to my whimpy 350-watt PSU. Now I gotta buy at least a 500 watt PSU!!!! DAMNIT! Oh well, I found a nice 500 Watt for $63.

Riptide
09-20-05, 08:09 AM
I'm confused. Why would it be running slower because your power supply isn't enough wattage? Shouldn't it be unstable instead?

six_storm
09-20-05, 09:40 AM
I'm confused. Why would it be running slower because your power supply isn't enough wattage? Shouldn't it be unstable instead?

I dunno. This message comes up at Windows startup saying "NVIDIA Sentenel deteects that you don't have enough voltage going to the graphics card. (In a nut shell) Speeds will be run at a very low level . . . " I even tried running BF2 right fast and I could tell it was just dragging around.

I'm looking at buying a bigger PSU today from Best Buy or something. Is Dynex a good PSU brand? They have a 500 WT PSU for $100.

Nutty
09-20-05, 10:41 AM
Dynex ? Never heard of them. If you can afford it, PC Power & Cooling, or Enermax, OCZ, Thermaltake, Antec, Seasonic or Zalman are all good.

six_storm
09-20-05, 11:10 AM
Too late . . . . I found a deal on NewEgg for an Aspire 500 Watt SLI-Ready PSU for $92 w/Overnight Shipping! :D My other gaming rig had an Aspire PSU and it works really well so I figured I can take a chance on Aspire. Geez, I'm already into some serious debt though lol.

http://images10.newegg.com/productimage/17-148-001-15.JPG

Nutty
09-20-05, 01:34 PM
That PSU looks bizarre! Never heard of aspire either!

Just looks like a couple of batteries and 2 pop tarts in a plastic box! :D

six_storm
09-20-05, 01:37 PM
That PSU looks bizarre! Never heard of aspire either!

Just looks like a couple of batteries and 2 pop tarts in a plastic box! :D

Hahahaha!!! Yeah, Aspire makes PSUs and Cases as well. I got overnight shipping on that bad boy so it should obviously be here tomorrow. Today was my only real day to do absolutly nothing besides work on my new rig too. :(

Riptide
09-20-05, 01:45 PM
Seems odd to me that the card is complaining about the lack of power. How much amperage does the power supply produce on the 12v rail?

OWA
09-20-05, 01:56 PM
Since I am a retard, I forgot my name and password to my blog so I had to make another one . . .

http://projectssv2.blogspot.com/


Heh, sounds like something I would do. :)

Congrats on the new system. It's looking good.

six_storm
09-20-05, 01:59 PM
Seems odd to me that the card is complaining about the lack of power. How much amperage does the power supply produce on the 12v rail?

From the label on the PSU = 16A on 12+ and 1.0A on 12-

Sorry, I'm a n00b to the PSU readings. Yeah, everytime I boot Windows, I get the same message.

six_storm
09-20-05, 02:30 PM
http://www.photodump.com/viewer/six_storm/7800nopower.html

OWA
09-20-05, 02:38 PM
If you haven't tried it already, try having the GT as the only thing on the power line you're using for it. That is, don't plug hard drives, fans or anything else on the same line.

Riptide
09-20-05, 03:32 PM
16 amps on the 12v line? That is pretty weak. I can see that might cause some problems, especially w/other peripherals installed.

six_storm
09-20-05, 03:37 PM
EDIT: I took the PSU out of my system completely, hooked everything back up and it runs just fine. BTW, I gave the video card it's own Power Line and that message didn't pop up! Gonna try out a game real fast.

Original Post:
Well, I gave it a good shut down and unfortunatly it's not wanting to come back on lol. I think that 350WT PSU finally got tired huh? Nothing blew up, nothing is smoking, nothing smells; just doesnt give it enough "umph" to start it back up is all.

My new 500WT PSU will solve all of these problems tomorrow so I'm not worried about it. Just kinda pissed me off to find a bunch of other parts that I have to buy outta no where.

ViN86
09-20-05, 04:26 PM
yea i wouldnt mind the warning msg. its there to keep you from FUBAR'ing your card or another hardware part. nice to hear you got your new PSU and are up and running :D

six_storm
09-20-05, 04:36 PM
Well, I haven't got my new PSU yet (tomorrow). I'm still running my old PSU for tonight. Everything seems to work BTW. I tried out Half Life 2 and CS:S at full blown out AA and AF at 1280x1024 (I'm using a crap CRT).

I tried the stress test in CSS and here's what I got.

My old rig: 99.97 FPS
My new rig: 140.89 FPS

Pretty nice boost huh?

ViN86
09-20-05, 04:42 PM
indeed, especially considering your card isnt even going at full speeds