PDA

View Full Version : Question from a newbie to SLi

Ninjaman09
09-17-05, 10:58 AM
Well guys my A8N-SLI Premium and extra 7800GTX are on their way, and I just had a few questions for those of you who are familiar with SLi motherboards. I've never worked with one before so I don't know what to expect or anything. Basically, I just want to make sure I get everything connected properly and don't screw it up. :D

First of all, I noticed there's an extra Molex connector on the motherboard near one of the video card slots. What is that for exactly? I still have to connect power to the rear of the card, correct? I just thought that was kind of strange.

Second, I'm assuming that the motherboard comes with its own SLi bridge connector. By having that connected, and having both of the cards installed, is SLi automatically enabled or do I need to fiddle with some jumpers or something? I have read that the instruction manual for this particular board is a complete mess so I'd like to preemptively deal with any confusion.

And last, are the SATA controllers handled as IDE controllers, thus negating the need for a driver installation during the Windows install? If I don't need to connect a floppy drive I'd like to avoid it.

|MaguS|
09-17-05, 11:53 AM
Well guys my A8N-SLI Premium and extra 7800GTX are on their way, and I just had a few questions for those of you who are familiar with SLi motherboards. I've never worked with one before so I don't know what to expect or anything. Basically, I just want to make sure I get everything connected properly and don't screw it up. :D

First of all, I noticed there's an extra Molex connector on the motherboard near one of the video card slots. What is that for exactly? I still have to connect power to the rear of the card, correct? I just thought that was kind of strange.

No clue, I just have my PSU plugged into it. /shrug