PDA

View Full Version : X2 performance expectations


Pages : [1] 2

dandano
09-24-05, 03:50 PM
I built a system at work that's primarily used for scientific work (matlab), and I got an X2 4200+ for it, but it seems like the older xp 2800+ system actually runs faster. Wtf? The old system is an a7n8x motherboard, the new on is a gigabyte GA-K8NXP. Both have a gig of ram... I can't think what else might be effecting performance.

Why is the X2 performing so badly?

danh

jAkUp
09-24-05, 04:02 PM
Did you install the AMD CPU driver?

grey_1
09-24-05, 04:48 PM
I never noticed a performance diff with the drivers on my Axp rig, does it make that much a difference on the a64's ? or just the dual cores? Edit- Actually, I'll give it (http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_9706,00.html)a try.

jAkUp
09-24-05, 05:25 PM
Its recommended for the dual cores. For the single cores, it adds cool and quiet.. thats it.

keith33
09-24-05, 05:51 PM
You should also set processor affinity for important apps.

dandano
09-24-05, 05:51 PM
Did you install the AMD CPU driver?


yep. installed drivers. task manager show both cores. and i am not running cool n quiet.

dandano
09-24-05, 05:52 PM
You should also set processor affinity for important apps.


what is the processor affinity you speak of?

zoomy942
09-24-05, 09:33 PM
cool n quiet is great:)

Sazar
09-24-05, 09:39 PM
yep. installed drivers. task manager show both cores. and i am not running cool n quiet.

You are saying the processor is actually performing LESS than your old axp?

Amuro
09-24-05, 09:49 PM
You should also set processor affinity for important apps.
Where and how do you set this processor affinity?

TierMann
09-24-05, 10:52 PM
Affinity chooses which core or processor the application will use. With X2's you can choose cpu0, cpu1 or both.
Go to the "Processes" tab in task manager and right click on a task you want to set affinity for. Choose "Set Affinity..." and pick the cpus from the list. You'll have to do that every time you start an application if you want to set affinity, but I havn't had a single issue where that solved anything after installing the latest AMD X2 drivers. Some people have had problems with certain games not liking to run on both processors though so they just set it to cpu0. It's mostly useful for setting apps like Folding@Home to use one proc while another instance uses the second, but here I just let them balance themselves out. I don't seem to lose any performance either way.

Amuro
09-24-05, 11:13 PM
I see. BTW, is this the driver you're talking about?

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (exe) 1.2.2.2

I downloaded and installed the 32bit version.

TierMann
09-24-05, 11:28 PM
That's the one. :)

1.2.2.2 for 32-bit windows and 1.2.2.1 for 64-bit.
Both show up as 1.2.2.0 though when they're installed.

Riptide
09-25-05, 12:07 AM
Odd. I never loaded the CPU driver (don't use CnQ) and I have yet to notice any performance degradation in anything, even games. My old single core chip was faster than my dual core chip (2.4ghz vs. 2.2ghz).

TierMann
09-25-05, 12:47 AM
Odd. I never loaded the CPU driver (don't use CnQ) and I have yet to notice any performance degradation in anything, even games. My old single core chip was faster than my dual core chip (2.4ghz vs. 2.2ghz).

Most of the time you won't notice anything strange unless you use CnQ without the drivers. The clock runs too fast under load and you get crazy speed in games and animations because it's using the cpu frequency as a timer and that's always changing. When you install the AMD drivers with CnQ support, it adds /usepmtimer to your boot.ini string. If you're using CnQ it fixes the issue, if not you're still using pmtimer but there's no downside that I know of.

jAkUp
09-25-05, 01:17 AM
From what I hear, when using a dual core CPU, it also fixes issues in some games...

dandano
09-25-05, 01:56 AM
You are saying the processor is actually performing LESS than your old axp?


Yeah. Both setups are running the same program on different data sets, and the old xp is outpacing the X2. Weird.

Now I know that matlab is only using one of the two cores, but shouldn't that one core on the 4200+ be faster than the xp 2700+?

Sazar
09-25-05, 02:23 AM
I have yet to come across a situation where my a64 is not faster than both my old axp 1900+ or my p4 3.0c.

Going by my personal experience, it is hard to believe the AXP appears to be faster than teh a64 you have but stranger things have happened :D

Tabs
09-25-05, 05:41 AM
I just got a 4200+ in my new system as well and it's noticably faster than my old OC'ed XP2500 was. You did reformat and clean install Windows etc after installing the new hardware right?

macachia
09-25-05, 05:50 AM
jakUP, can you please guide me to this x2 driver if possible? I've been runningmy x2 for the last week with no drivers installed

thanks in advance mate

Amuro
09-25-05, 05:53 AM
You can download the driver here:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

keith33
09-25-05, 07:24 AM
You can set processor affinity by going into task manager, going into Processes, right clicking on the EXE for the game or whatever, choosing "Set Affinity", unchecking CPU 1, hitting okay

dandano
09-26-05, 02:17 PM
I just got a 4200+ in my new system as well and it's noticably faster than my old OC'ed XP2500 was. You did reformat and clean install Windows etc after installing the new hardware right?


It's an entirely new system. new hd, new install, new everything. and it has the amd cpu driver and it is not running cool n quiet.
danh

dandano
09-26-05, 02:30 PM
Here are the complete specs of the system X2 system that is being outpaced:

AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+
GigaByte GA-K8N ultra-9 (BIOS F4)
Kingston ValueRAM PC3200 (512x2) (timing: 2.5-3-3-6 1T@2.6v)
Seagate ST3400832AS 400GB SATA HD
Chaintech Nvidia GeForce 6200TC
Pioneer DVR-105 DVD+/-RW
Teac 3.5" Floppy Drive
Zip 250MB drive
Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU

Drivers:
nForce4 v6.66
AMD Processor driver v1.2.2.2
GeForce v77.72

Operating System:
Windows XP Pro w/SP2, all patches

BugginOuT
09-26-05, 04:03 PM
You can download the driver here:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

Care to explain exactly what this driver does for a end user?