PDA

View Full Version : Getting AthlonXP T-Bred 2400+ is it......


ringu61
12-30-02, 11:19 AM
Is AthlonXP [T-Bred] 2400+ already unlocked?
My ASUS A7V8X and KingMax 256MB DDR400 RAM are arriving soon. I have heard that KT400 mobo can unlock the CPU. And AthlonXp T-Bred 2400+ is already unlocked so what's the deal with mobo unlocking AthlonXP T-Bred?

I found My Current AthlonXP 1700+ [Palomino] very easy to unlock~ Unlocked at first attempt~

DO I need to do any work with My new AthlonXP [T-Bred] 2400+?

Cotita
12-30-02, 11:38 AM
As far as I know only epox supports processor unlocking.

There are reports that lots of XP2400+ are already unlocked.

There are several tutorials to unlock the Athlon processors, if you already unlocked your xp1700+, you should have no trouble unlocking the xp2400+

ringu61
12-30-02, 11:51 AM
Cool......

I am getting AthlonXP T-Bred 2400+ today

But can't install yet coz my ASUS A7V8X mobo and KingMax 256MB DDR400 RAM not arrived yet ><"

Cotita
12-30-02, 11:55 AM
I've heard there is a beta bios for the asus A7V8x that does support unlocking, don't know for sure though.

Daelemans_G
12-30-02, 03:29 PM
I've got an XP2400+ that is not unlocked. However, I believe that it's more a function of BIOS for the revB t-breds. There are stories of users being able to change the multiplier with beta BIOS on a variety of nforce2 boards...and I've also heard that some of the KT400 boards can do this too...

Of course I've got the ASUS nforce2 board and I have had no luck at all...and I'm not alone at being dissapointed with an apparent "bait and switch" : enticed by reviews conducted with beta BIOS that will likely never be available to the masses.

Luckily my CPU overclocks pretty hefty without multiplier tricks. (still far from a 200MHz FSB)

EciDemon
01-01-03, 03:03 AM
I recently bought an amd xp 2400+ and a gigabyte kt400 mobo, the Mobo unlocks the cpu ( I think most kt400 mobos do)
but this particular mobo I have isnt very good for OC, tho its easy but you wont get very far, since the multiplyer is locked at 15.

I dont really mind that... since im not gonna OC in the near future anyway. Its very fast as it is ;)

ringu61
01-01-03, 07:58 AM
U should have got ASUS A7V8X .

I have AthlonXP T-Bred 2400+

my mobo can change at any multiplier value.

maybe just I am lucky?

EciDemon
01-01-03, 10:19 AM
No you are not just lucky, it is an restriction on this specific mobo (GA 7VA). I was aware of the locked multiplier, but I dont mind that. I can still OC using the fsb and such, tho I can not get as high oc results as with a lower multiplier.

In the future when needed I might change to a better mobo for OC.

But the GA mobo did come with some nifty tools to play with :) so Im happy.

@Bios, Update the bios via internet directly in windows, very fast and easy.

GA Easy tune, mobo monitor and OC utillity, much like Rivatuner for Nvidia cards, but this is for the mobo and you can OC on the fly.

GA Facewizard, This I liked, you can take any bmp image (up to 640x480) and use it as an boot image showed when you turn on the computer, just like Ibm, compaq and other comps like that, So I made my self a real nice personal logo :)

There are some other info tools too of little interest to me ;)

Another advantage I think is that the mobo is very very easy to use and setup.

Madstrom
01-01-03, 09:40 PM
Hmmm...my 2400 did not have the laser cut like my 1600s or my 1800. I just figured it was locked some other way. Hopefully I will purchase the Asus Kt400 of nForce2 motherboard. On the K7S5A there's not a lot of overclocking choices :(

But it WAS CHEAP!

ringu61
01-01-03, 11:13 PM
u should get ASUStek A7V8X~~

I can change any multiplier from lowerest to Highest.

I have AthlonXP T-Bred 2400+

I think above 2400+ everything is unlocked.

I am currently at 13.5*166 = 2241MHz @ 2249.75MHz
Gonna try overclock higher later.

My Computer Spec:

*Microsoft WindowsXp Professional Edition
*AMD AthlonXP T-Bred 2400+ @ 2.31GHz
*ASUStek A7V8X Ultra Mobo Rev1.04 BIOS 1010Final
*KingMax 2x 256MB [512MB] DDR333 DDRRAM
*Leadtek GeForce4 Ti4200 A280LE TD 128MB DDR AGP8X
*Seagate Baraccuda III UATA100 7200RPM 2MB 2MB 20GB
*ASUStek CRW-4012A 40x12x48x CD-RW Drive
*Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 Digital Entertainment
*Enermax EG365P-VE 350W+ PSU