PDA

View Full Version : 512 x 4 vs. 1024 x 2


slick
10-04-05, 10:18 AM
Before I go launching into my new PC build, I have a question.

What is better/worse 4 512mb sticks of ram, or 2 1gig sticks?

|MaguS|
10-04-05, 10:21 AM
What cpu? if its P4 it doesn't matter but if its A64 then go 2x1024 since it will allow you to run T1 timings insted of T2.

slick
10-04-05, 10:24 AM
It will be running on an AMD 64 3000+ E6 (OC'd to hell of course :p).


Also could someone please explain what T1/T2/Twhatever timings are? I keep seeing that and I have no effing clue what that means, and google isn't helping.

jAkUp
10-04-05, 10:30 AM
Its just faster timings. T1 is much faster than T2.

slick
10-04-05, 10:37 AM
So then what's the difference between 2225-T2 and 2325-T1, it just means that it has faster timings?

Specifically, what is gonna be better for me on my proc..

This x 2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227209)
or
This x 2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227211)

slick
10-04-05, 10:42 AM
Pardon the ignorance, but 1 more question (I know absolutely nothing about RAM aside from how speed and CAS works).

I posted that single gig sticks 'cause I won't be getting the 2gig in one straight shot, but if I purchase the 2 gig seperately, will they still run in DC?

|MaguS|
10-04-05, 10:48 AM
Yea. One thing you need to look into is getting faster ram, especially if you plan on overclocking. Remember you will be able to go so far with DDR400 before you have to slow it down just so you can get more mhz out of your CPU.

slick
10-04-05, 10:56 AM
So yes? They will run dual channel if purchased seperately?

And what is this about overclocking? I didn't think that CPU overclocking was affected by RAM?

|MaguS|
10-04-05, 11:06 AM
Yeah, purchasing them seperatly will not affect their ability to run in Dual Channel as long as they are the same speed.

As for overclocking, its very related to RAM. To gain Mhz you need to increase the FSB of the CPU which in turn increases the speed of your RAM. If the RAM cannot support the increase you will not be stable or even boot. In turn you will have to run your speed at a slower speed (insted of 200, you drop to 166 (DDR333)) or get faster ram. This is why there is DDR500 and higher, so you can get more of an OC without having to slow your RAM.

Also, Your going to need a PSU with good efficiency and a good cooler (for ram aswell if you plan on using a DDR Booster).

Read and understand this prior to thinking about OCing, If you cant grasp the way it works. Don't Risk it.
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=795444

Peacemaker
10-04-05, 11:31 AM
Check this out :
this pictures are from my mini test of PDP Patriot performance vs. Geill UltraX
2x1024 vs. 2x512 (becouse 4x512 don't want to run properly - one pair builded on Samsung TCCD another on Winbound BH-5)

http://forum.pclab.pl/index.php?showtopic=111876&hl=

it should explain You clear, which way You should go ;)

greetings,

Peacemaker.

combat_wombat
10-04-05, 11:35 AM
Its just faster timings. T1 is much faster than T2.

no it's not. 1-5% in real apps. only in synthetic memory benchmarks does it appear to be much faster, but in actual applications it's not that big of a difference. in games, most people would be hard pressed to notice any difference. A64's are not bandwidth starved.

|MaguS|
10-04-05, 11:50 AM
Check this out :
this pictures are from my mini test of PDP Patriot performance vs. Geill UltraX
2x1024 vs. 2x512 (becouse 4x512 don't want to run properly - one pair builded on Samsung TCCD another on Winbound BH-5)

http://forum.pclab.pl/index.php?showtopic=111876&hl=

it should explain You clear, which way You should go ;)

greetings,

Peacemaker.

Wow thats some slow ram, my ram beats your 2x512 by atleast 10ns in the latency test and by over 1k in the write test.

2x512 is not an option for him since he wants to go 2GB, the best choice would be 2x1024 since timings would be better.

combat_wombat, I can notice a difference between 1T and 2T, I can't between C2 and C3. I was afraid of losing some speed when going 2GB but thankfully I can run 1T at high FSB just fine.

slick
10-04-05, 03:28 PM
So would I be better off with some of this stuff (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227220) then? (timings aren't listed in the product description but the sticker on the RAM in the picture reads 2-3-3-6).

keith33
10-04-05, 03:37 PM
Go with 2 1GB Crucial Ballistix Sticks at PC4000 (3-3-3-8-1T), if you knock that down to PC3200 you'll probably hit 2-2-2-5-1T with some more voltage and you have the guaranteed headroom for some extreme overclocking. Easily the best 1GB sticks out right now except for the Muskin extremes which won't be out for awhile. I would have loved to buy the Crucial sticks but due to money restraints I just went with the OCZ (and I don't OC much). Good luck.

slick
10-04-05, 04:12 PM
You mean these? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146396)

On a side note, I just got a stick of that. I'll be getting another one in about 2 weeks or so.

$n][pErMan
10-04-05, 08:14 PM
2 1gigs by far! :D

|MaguS|
10-05-05, 06:45 AM
You mean these? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146396)

On a side note, I just got a stick of that. I'll be getting another one in about 2 weeks or so.

Those are good but not as good as Crucial Ballistix (ones I have). Ballistix are known for great OC potential.

Arto*
10-05-05, 01:53 PM
hmm thats interesting. I have 4x512mb and im running at 2-3-2-5.

slick
10-05-05, 02:09 PM
Those are good but not as good as Crucial Ballistix (ones I have). Ballistix are known for great OC potential.

Eh, suits me. I don't plan on taking the 3000+ any higher then 2.2ghz (maybe higher in the future, depending on how hot it runs/how cool a venus will keep it).