PDA

View Full Version : F.E.A.R Freezing, maybe drivers?


Pages : [1] 2

tret
10-16-05, 11:23 AM
Hey all, I am experiencing a problem with my 7800 GTX SLI Rig (See Sig) and F.E.A.R. The game freezes between 1 and 5 minutes after loading a level and starting to play. I have run 3Dmark03, 3Dmark05, Prime95, and some other games for hours on end and no freezing, crashing or locking up of any kind.
I have tried both the latest official drivers and the latest beta drivers from nzone. I have tried running the game in SLI and also in Single GPU mode and get the same results.

anyone else having similar issues?

The other games I have been running without a problem BTW are HL2, Black and white 2, BF2, and AOE3

thanks in advance

tret

Eliminator
10-16-05, 11:30 AM
ya it happens with that game.... try to see if u can disable autosave.... also it can also be because you only have 1gb of ram

tret
10-16-05, 11:39 AM
Thanks for the reply, I will try disabling autosave, and I already have a second pair of Gold VX on the way, I will have to lower the command rate to 2T since all 4 dimm slots will be in use but the pay off of having 2GB should be worth it. 2-2-2-8 2T is still pretty tight at DDR500 i suppose

tret

tret
10-16-05, 12:05 PM
Well I looked around the options in F.E.A.R and didn't find an option for disabling autosave. Anyone have any idea how to do it? maybe a line item in the config file?

tret

Grestorn
10-16-05, 01:05 PM
This happens on my system, too, even if I disable SLI.

I tried to lower the resolution from 1600x1200 to 1152x864 and it helped a lot, but I still get a freeze from time to time.

I've heard it might be a problem of 82.84, but I'm not sure. Since I also play B&W2, I don't want to revert to an older driver.

Dani74
10-16-05, 01:35 PM
well same here , i think we have to wait till tomorrow when nvidia should release new driver , :p

Knacki99
10-16-05, 02:47 PM
Game working fine here on a 6800GT @ 410/1.100Mhz with 81.84 and FSAA2x and 4xAF. 1290x980res (dont remember the exact res).

There seems to be a problem with a memory leak in the game though. Also if you run a Creative Labs Sound Card try to disable the startup program "Cthelper.exe" and see if that helps.

Peoples-Agent
10-16-05, 04:09 PM
The word is that disabling EAX HD and instead using EAX 2.0 is suppose to stop alot of pausing / freezing issues.

Dani74
10-16-05, 04:31 PM
well in my case i don't have creative card so i don't know exactly what the problem is ....but i read somewhere else dat raccomendet spec for sound are creative x-fi dunno if that means something ..
:confused:

macatak
10-16-05, 06:11 PM
I and a few other have a freezing problem with FEAR, by freezing i mean the game hard-locks and i need to c+a+d or reset my computer, this freezing is related to icon/text that appears on the screen when you approach a pick-up item or when you see the 'hand' icon as you open doors or climb ladders, so far i haven't been able to find a fix for it yet(was hoping this would be fixed in the final version)

Related Thread (http://forums.vugames.com/thread.jspa?threadID=5659&tstart=0)

Related Thread (http://forums.vugames.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1160&tstart=0)

Knacki99
10-17-05, 03:25 AM
Launch day patch to come for FEAR! See:

http://forums.vugames.com/thread.jspa?threadID=7012&tstart=0

j0j081
10-17-05, 04:53 AM
are you guys all playing a pirated copy or what? i thought it comes out Tuesday!

TierMann
10-17-05, 05:00 AM
are you guys all playing a pirated copy or what? i thought it comes out Tuesday!
Some retailers are selling it early.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=58184

Roliath
10-17-05, 06:38 AM
i'm getting the freeze aswell.
I'm using 78.05 drivers, and it froze on the first level, and once later on in the game.

Knacki99
10-17-05, 06:48 AM
No freezes yet with 81.84 through the first 6 7 levels

saturnotaku
10-17-05, 11:24 AM
I've been running the demo on my 6600 GT with both the 78.05 and 81.84 drivers without any problems. Even 1024x768, no AA/4x AF and most details turned down to medium, the games looks great.

SH64
10-17-05, 01:03 PM
Just to make sure ... did you pirate the game or something ?? word around that those who pirated the game had actually the unfinished version & thats why the performance issues.
http://worthplaying.com/print.php?sid=29136

i know it sounds stupid .. but just verifying what they say ..

Grestorn
10-17-05, 01:13 PM
Just to make sure ... did you pirate the game or something ?? word around that those who pirated the game had actually the unfinished version & thats why the performance issues.
http://worthplaying.com/print.php?sid=29136

i know it sounds stupid .. but just verifying what they say ..
Well, I definitely bought the UK version last Friday. It came in at around 5pm at the shop where I buy almost all games.

I don't have performance problems, but the game keeps freezing from time to time. Especially when using 1600x1200 and a lot less frequently in 1152x876.

Roliath
10-17-05, 02:22 PM
Just to make sure ... did you pirate the game or something ?? word around that those who pirated the game had actually the unfinished version & thats why the performance issues.
http://worthplaying.com/print.php?sid=29136

i know it sounds stupid .. but just verifying what they say ..
I was lucky enough to snag a retail copy, and i'm still getting hard-locks.

tret
10-17-05, 02:41 PM
Just by browsing the replys on this thread and by my own testing, this issue seems to affect 7800 series cards and not the 6800 series. I have a P4 rig with a 6800 GT in it and it runs without a problem, no freezing or hanging or hitching or anything of the sort.

Any 6800 series users experiencing the hard lock/freezing?

tret

Dr.Nick
10-17-05, 03:41 PM
No problems here. Try it again without OCing

Dani74
10-17-05, 03:52 PM
hi Nick , which driver are u using ?

Siu Hong
10-17-05, 04:14 PM
Just by browsing the replys on this thread and by my own testing, this issue seems to affect 7800 series cards and not the 6800 series. I have a P4 rig with a 6800 GT in it and it runs without a problem, no freezing or hanging or hitching or anything of the sort.

Any 6800 series users experiencing the hard lock/freezing?

tret

:afro2: no problem at all on my 6800 Ultra using 77.30 driver (come with Battlefield 2)

all MAXIUM details enabled 4XAA + 16XAF+V-Sync ON

Intel P4 3.OC| 2GB Corsair XMS DDR 400 RAM | Inno 6800 ultra | ASUS P4P800 MOBO|WD 200GB SATA X 2|Antec 550W PSU|Sony G220 CRT|
Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech Z5300 5.1 speakers|

tret
10-17-05, 04:39 PM
I have tried with stock clocks, same results

tret

TheManko
10-17-05, 04:56 PM
I'm running with a Geforce 6800GT and I played through the entire game in one sitting without experiencing any bugs or crashes. It really was more of an experience than just a game. It has truly raised the bar for future FPS games and puts Doom 3, Half-Life 2 and Far Cry to shame.