PDA

View Full Version : 7800GTX SLI noob, need help


Shocky
10-21-05, 05:19 PM
Hi, managed to get hold of 2 XFX 7800GTX's and installed them on my A8N SLI Premium motherboard... It seem to be working properly in some applications but not in others..

3dmark03 : 26000/ 3dmark2001: 23000??????

Does 3dmark2001 not have a sli profile? Dont have anything else to test atm but is this normal? arent there ment to be different sli rendering options? AA modes? I dont see any....

Help ?

J-Mag
10-21-05, 05:25 PM
Why do you care about 3dmark 01, it is CPU limited anyway and it's not like you play it. It is kinda like buying a 7800GTX rig and then using quake2 as your benchmark... If you want some sort of performance indicator use 3dmark 05 at least for christ's sake. Personally I prefer benching REAL apps, but that's just me.

Shocky
10-21-05, 05:29 PM
Why do you care about 3dmark 01, it is CPU limited anyway and it's not like you play it. It is kinda like buying a 7800GTX rig and then using quake2 as your benchmark... If you want some sort of performance indicator use 3dmark 05 at least for christ's sake. Personally I prefer benching REAL apps, but that's just me.

Why so hostile?

I realise that and no, I dont care about the score but I do use them just to make sure everythings working and its doesnt seem to be working and that I do care about. downloading 3dmark05 now...

SH64
10-21-05, 05:40 PM
3DMark01 does have SLI profile. whats your system specs ?
i get around 32k in it with the SLI system below.

Shocky
10-21-05, 05:47 PM
3DMark01 does have SLI profile. whats your system specs ?
i get around 32k in it with the SLI system below.

Score the same as a single card in 3dmark05 7800.. :(
Nothing overclocked atm, just trying to get sli working correctly :(

I have noticed the 2 XFX 7800 GTX cards I have are different versions of the same card.. would it effect performace if the bios dont match? version 1.0 and version 1.2.... would I need to updated the first cards bios?

If so where can I get them? :/

A64 3500+ Venice
A8N Sli Premium
2048 Corsair 3200
Audigy 2...

Shocky
10-21-05, 06:48 PM
bump... :o

holdenb
10-21-05, 07:29 PM
bump... :o


the latest drivers (81.85) have mixed BIOS/vendor support....so they should solve any incompatiblity issues..

and 3dmark 01 is very CPU bound and likely to be affectd only by CPU

OWA
10-21-05, 07:38 PM
Yeah, try the latest drivers (81.85s). They have better SLI support.

Also, make sure you've got the bios of the A8N set to auto for the SLI option or manually set it to enabled.

Did you install the Ai Selector?

Shocky
10-22-05, 06:07 AM
I'm using 81.85... :(

newls1
10-23-05, 06:53 PM
are you OCing that VENICE of yours, you BETTER!!!

Ryker
10-25-05, 12:21 AM
Hi did you uninstall your old Nvida drivers first ? or just in stall over them ? 81.85 suppose to take care of that problem,if it dont work you will have to flash the bios on your cards to make them the same version.
any programs or firewalls or virus/adaware/spyware running ? you should shut them down and re try.
you can see if both cards are running by going to Nvidia properties where you enable SLI mode and click on "Show load balanceing" and go to performance and quality page and in the active profile tab click on 3DMARK05 profile
and apply changes,then start a SLI game, you will see two green lines one
vertical and one horizontal, the horizontal line will cut your screen in half ,top
half is top gfx card,bottom half is bottom gfx card,horazontal line will move up and down to show witch card is rendering the most, Vertical line move
up and down to to show gpu load.and if its workink right,then uncheck the show load balance and re run 3dmark05.
you should get a better score than 7800 with no over clocking !
let us know if this helps.