PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good Low budget PC Upgrade?


jake_maveric_05
10-23-05, 07:46 AM
I didnt know where to put this post so i put it here. Is this a good low budget PC upgrade? Im trying to upgrade from what i already have. Iv got a 6800LE and 768mb of memory. Mostly trying to go from Athlon XP to Athlon 64, while staying under my budget...$300 EVERYTHING ON HERE IS FOUND and SOLD ON NEWEGG.com thats where im getting this stuff.

CHAINTECH S1689 Socket 939 ULi M1689 ATX AMD Motherboard-->$50

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor --> $146

CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory--> $41
Adding this to the 768mb of memory I already have!

VANTEC ICEBERG DDR-A1A RAM Heat Spreader--> $5
For the Memory!

Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24bit 70SB041000000 Sound Card--> $30
Trying to upgrade from my old ESS Maestro sound card.

stncttr908
10-23-05, 10:04 AM
This belongs in General Hardware.

Save. Socket 754 will be dead soon (if it's not already).

jAkUp
10-23-05, 12:15 PM
Definetely try to stick with the same ram. Your sig says Corsair, so you would want to run the same, you could have problems when trying to run dual channel.

jake_maveric_05
10-23-05, 12:15 PM
Ok, look at the list and tell me if its good. I took out the game(I might get it before the upgrade, lol LUV Doom3, it rox!) and changed the mobo/CPU. Tell me wacha think.

marqmajere
10-23-05, 12:19 PM
That looks good to me. Like jakUp said though, stick with Corsair. You dont want to go mixing ram types.

jAkUp
10-23-05, 12:22 PM
I would also recommend just dumping the soundcard completely, and just using onboard audio. The soundblaster live is not really an upgrade from the onboard audio, and you would save 30 bucks, also you would save 5 bucks on the heatspreader, and get some corsair ram :)

jake_maveric_05
10-23-05, 12:22 PM
oh ok. But i dont really think I am using Dual Channel with these sticks. I dont think my mobo supports them. What is dual channel,by the way? Iv heard of it but never tried it or looked it up.

jAkUp
10-23-05, 12:27 PM
Dual channel is basically just faster memory performance when you put the memory in pairs.

how many sticks do you have right now? Do you have 3 256's? Or 1 512 and 1 256?

I believe all 939 boards support dual channel memory.

jake_maveric_05
10-23-05, 12:30 PM
Dual channel is basically just faster memory performance when you put the memory in pairs.

how many sticks do you have right now? Do you have 3 256's? Or 1 512 and 1 256?

I believe all 939 boards support dual channel memory.

I have 1 stick of 256mb and 1 stick of 512mb. my other RAM slot on my current board is empty.

Ok i fixed it took out the Nistromo(dont really need it) and the 256mb RAM and Added 512mb of ram. that should do it.