PDA

View Full Version : 1.5 GB ram or new processor?


Treason
10-24-05, 11:16 PM
I have an AMD A64 3200+ Winchester on an Asus A8V Deluxe 2.0 and 1 gb of generic PC3200 ram. I heard that if I buy an additional 1 gb of ram and fill up all the ram slots, the ram frequency drops to 166 MHz. I can get a cheap 512 mb PC3200 ram module to get 1.5 gb of total ram to avoid this problem, or should I buy a 3200+ Venice?

Q
10-24-05, 11:24 PM
I would save the money for a better upgrade.

Seriously, it would definetly not be worth your money for either of those options. The Venice isn't exactly going to give you a big speed boost, if ANY at all. I wouldn't recomend mixing generic ram with different and other cheap ram. Have fun troubleshooting the random BSODs...

Plus, unless your a huge BF2 gamer its unlikely that you would even see the difference from 1gb to 1.5.

Perhaps invest in a CD with that money until you get enough for a worth while upgrade? :D

rewt
10-25-05, 01:17 AM
Hmmm. If you get the new processor you've still got only 1GB ram so no difference in speed, unless of course you plan on buying more ram along with it. If you just get more ram you could likely see a difference in BF2, provided that you don't get a bunch of errors from mixing different ram types.

So yeah, basically what Qlitchford said.

myshkinbob
10-25-05, 07:26 PM
I went from 1GB to 1.5GB and it made quite a big difference in bf2, depends on your usage i guess. :)

CaptNKILL
10-25-05, 09:26 PM
FEAR seems to benefit a lot from over a gig of ram as well...

Elderblaze
10-26-05, 12:14 AM
if you go with 3 chips you lose dual channel. which will cause you to lose 3-5% real world performance. 30-50% synthetic performance.

Regards,
Mike