PDA

View Full Version : What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?


JediKnight
10-29-05, 01:57 AM
I thought valve was going to relase a non-HDR version of Lost Coast. Im a big HL fan and wanted to try out anything new, but I cant becasue I have a Fx5900Ultra, and Im not in the position to spend $300 to upgrade now just for one level. Just sucks!

I guess I will have to wait till I build another top of the line system early next year.

TierMann
10-29-05, 02:00 AM
So turn off HDR and Bloom? It's an option in the video menu.

einstein_314
10-29-05, 02:58 AM
So turn off HDR and Bloom? It's an option in the video menu.
What he said.

JediKnight
10-29-05, 03:13 AM
really? hmm....... gonna try again, cause the first time I tried to load it, it crashed.
thanks.

TierMann
10-29-05, 08:11 AM
Yup. That option was added to Options->Video->Advanced... in all Source games just before Day of Defeat Source came out. How'd you make out with this?

JediKnight
10-30-05, 02:18 AM
thanks all. this time it loaded and the HDR option is grayed out since my card doesnt have HDR. cant explain why it crashed the first couple of times I tried to load it though.

Edge
10-30-05, 03:06 AM
Actually you could enable HDR by forcing DX9 through the game with that card. But it would probably run pretty slow.

Rakeesh
10-30-05, 10:22 AM
Does that make it do HDR in software or something?

angshuman
10-30-05, 10:46 AM
Nope... NV3x do support DX9, but my understanding is that performance drops horribly. I don't know why, though... in fact, you may be right, they might be emulating it from the drivers :p

$n][pErMan
10-30-05, 12:17 PM
I thought the higher up FX series supported DX9.0. That was what the whole stink was about when valve made its games only use DX8.0 on FX cards and the ATi cards at the time used the DX9.0. I swear that was a really big deal when HL2 came out because the FX cards DO support DX9.0 (even if it would be much slower).

Edge
10-30-05, 05:08 PM
Not just the higher-up ones, ALL FX cards support DX9. However the performance hit on anything less than the FX5900 is absolutely terribly, and even on the FX5900 it's not so great. But, for Lost Coast it should still be playable at 800x600 or so on an FX5900. With full DX9 effects in HL2, the FX5900's performance seems to come in just a bit above a 9600pro.

BioHazZarD
10-31-05, 03:00 AM
BUt if your card is not supported then you aint missing much, many people get the idea LC is a whole new episode but its not you only go up the cliffs in the church disable the machine that shoots out and then go down and this is all for the HDR effects nothing else.

SH64
10-31-05, 11:51 AM
Actually you could enable HDR by forcing DX9 through the game with that card. But it would probably run pretty slow.

Yeah it would be MUCH slower than noHDR that it could reach the "unplayable" level even on low res.
i hardly play it decently @1280x1024,noAA,8xAF on a X800XT-PE.

rewt
11-01-05, 09:49 AM
I don't believe FX series can do HDR, which is why the option is greyed out for him. Not only that, but it probably runs in DirectX 8.1 mode unless he hacks the config file and device IDs..

Edge
11-02-05, 11:28 AM
I don't believe FX series can do HDR, which is why the option is greyed out for him. Not only that, but it probably runs in DirectX 8.1 mode unless he hacks the config file and device IDs..
FX cards can do HDR in Lost Coast just fine, it's just a normal DX9 effect. And the only change that needs to be made for the FX cards to run in DX9 is for a startup option to be added to the game's command lind (or running a console command once you're in the game).