PDA

View Full Version : Home wireless network setup??

jticeman500
11-01-05, 07:52 PM
Hi everyone,

I want to setup a wireless home network, I am really good with setup wired networks but I am very new to wireless network and I decided to take the plunge. So I was just wording if anyone could walk me through the steps of setting up the wireless network?

My specs:

*Down in basement
--- 3 windows XP pro (sp2)
On a wired network using dink router 5port 10/100/1000
--- 1 freebsd computer as the gateway for the internet
--- new wireless router D-link DL-624 802.11b/g 802.3 108mbps
--- new wireless adapter-D-link DWL-G520 32bit pci2.2

I plan to move one of the XP machines upstairs into a study in second floor

*second floor

--- 1 Windows XP pro (sp2) to use wireless network

retsam
11-01-05, 08:38 PM
there really isnt much of a diffrence between wired and wireless... its just a diffrent physical medium ... now there is one cavet ...SECURITY..... jsut remember to get a router and a nic card that is "G" standard and has wpa2 encryption....on both the router and the nic card.... there really isnt much more i can say the setup is straight forward and each router is a little diffrent then others.... i have found for the most part that the instructions are easy...also remember to update the firmware as soon as you get a chance...usually they add features that were in the unit when it was released...well good luck ...and have fun...please let us know how you make out.

mx125race
11-01-05, 08:39 PM