PDA

View Full Version : Call of Duty 2 @ 1600x1200


Pennyboy
11-04-05, 03:26 AM
I just picked up COD 2 today and and am loving it. But a question, should I be able to run COD2 @ 1600x1200 everthing max setting with 4x AA and Anisotropic enabled? I tried it out but it seems to run a bit slow. Running @ 1280x1024 runs fine. I would be quite keen to hear from others with 2x 7800GTXs.
All my other games run perfect @ 1600x1200 except of course FEAR.

nkarnold
11-04-05, 06:37 AM
I just picked up COD 2 today and and am loving it. But a question, should I be able to run COD2 @ 1600x1200 everthing max setting with 4x AA and Anisotropic enabled? I tried it out but it seems to run a bit slow. Running @ 1280x1024 runs fine. I would be quite keen to hear from others with 2x 7800GTXs.
All my other games run perfect @ 1600x1200 except of course FEAR.

Im playing COD2 at 1680x1050, with my 2x7800GTX's and FX55 fine, withe the same settings as you.

No slow downs.

SH64
11-04-05, 08:15 AM
I'm playing @1280x1024,4xAA,8xAF .. 1600x1200 results in slow performance although the game is not all that graphically advanced.
i also have my framerate capped @60fps .. just to keep the gameplay steady & the framerate changes balanced :)

OWA
11-04-05, 10:04 AM
Yeah, I have to run it at 1280x1024 also. If I use 1600x1200 and leave the texture option on automatic (where it ends up picking "normal" for all the options instead of "extra") it runs well. If I change it to manual and then set all the options to "extra" it's just too slow, mainly when outdoors (which is a lot of the time).

Edit: BTW, have you tried SH64's new SLI value for FEAR? It helps a lot but I still just use 2xAA in FEAR at 1600x1200.

SH64
11-04-05, 10:09 AM
Edit: BTW, have you tried SH64's new SLI value for FEAR? It helps a lot but I still just use 2xAA in FEAR at 1600x1200.

Yep good call , he just need to look here for info :
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=58893

with that profile FEAR@1600x1200,2xAA,8xAF is very possible with much less slowdows than the standard SLI profile.

Pennyboy
11-04-05, 04:58 PM
Hey guys no I haven't tried SH64's setting for FEAR. I will give it a go today. Thanks again!!