PDA

View Full Version : Athlon X2 64 or Opteron?


patrick0
11-07-05, 02:27 PM
What processor is better? The Athlon X2 64 or the Opteron?

The 4400+ cost the same as the Opteron 175. Bought are 2400MHz, 2x1MB.

mx125race
11-07-05, 09:54 PM
probably bout the same performance but the dual core gives you some great, great multitaksing

superklye
11-08-05, 12:04 AM
The Opteron would require a server mobo, registered memory and probably costs quite a bit more than the X2.

Get the X2. Registered RAM is slower and this way the only thing you're changing is your CPU instead of the entire system.

Dr.Nick
11-08-05, 12:38 AM
Tough choice; both run at 2.2GHz and have 1mb L2(both dual core..pretty much the same chip lol). I say go for which ever is cheaper unless the Denmark(opteron) is known to OC better than Toledo(X2)

Edit- Both are socket 939 so they wont require any fancy memory or mobo:)

superklye
11-08-05, 12:51 AM
Whoa...what the hell? Since when are Opterons socket 939?

superklye
11-08-05, 12:52 AM
And the X2 is about $30 cheaper on NewEgg...

TierMann
11-08-05, 01:04 AM
Whoa...what the hell? Since when are Opterons socket 939?
Yeah. I'd like to know that too. I just noticed the other day when I was looking on Monarch and their combo is labeled socket939 sempron/athlon64/opteron 100 and I was like.. "what? how'd they sneak that by me?".

I'd go for the X2 as well. I doubt they're completely identical and the difference may be better for multimedia, same way the FX at the same clock is slightly better than the X2.

superklye
11-08-05, 01:08 AM
I guess for the 100 series, it may as well be socket 939 since you can only have one of them, but still, I thought the entire point of a server CPU was for ECC memory support.

|JuiceZ|
11-08-05, 10:11 AM
The new dual core Opteron's are s939 and are known to be great overclockers. The Opteron 165 (1.8Ghz) for example can be had for under $300 and has been known to run @ over 2.6ghz on stock cooling.

patrick0
11-08-05, 11:19 AM
I guessed the Opteron OCed better than the 4400+, And as I said, they cost the same over here, except that the Opteron is OEM and the X2 Boxed.

nelamvr6
11-09-05, 06:42 AM
So Opterons no longer require registered RAM? How did I miss this?

uOpt
11-09-05, 09:13 AM
1xx Opterons are now available for socket 939 and socket 940.

Socket 940 CPUs require registered/buffered and can do ECC and non-ECC.

Socket 939 and 754 CPUs, including Opterons, require unregistered/unbuffered and can do ECC and non-ECC. Most mainboards do not support ECC, but you can still use ECC modules, there's just no error correcting happening until you get a board that does (e.g. most Asus boards).

%%

The early Opteron 939 14x have been great overclockers, with later one partly spotty. The early 1[67]x also seem to overclock great but insufficient data is available yet.